Getting To Know: D-Wash

ATL SPEAKS
2 min readJun 2, 2022

--

Artist Name: D-Wash

Location: Raleigh, NC

Hometown: Bronx, NY

What made you get into making music in the first place? I like to compare my start up in music to falling in love. You can’t really explain what it is about it that made you feel so in deep but you’re in deep & you love it.

Did your parents or family influence you into music, or were they against your music aspirations? My family is very musically inclined. Most of my uncles and male cousins play instruments while the females tend to be able to sing. I’m the first rapper though.

If you could collaborate with any artist outside of your genre, who would it be? I would like to collaborate with a female R&B/Soul artist like Snoh Aalegra or Ari Lennox.

Do you have any crazy stories on performing live, or promoting your music in the club? I performed at a music festival and when I got off stage, a older woman probably in her late 50s walked up to me and told me my music made her dance.

I like to compare my start up in music to falling in love. You can’t really explain what it is about it that made you feel so in deep but you’re in deep & you love it. — D-Wash

What does a successful 2022 look like for you? To me, a successful 2022 would just be to progressing as an artist and making noise in the southern part of the country.

If we were to visit your hometown today, what local food spots would you recommend? I would recommend you go to White Castle.

Do you have a favorite type of food that your fans should know about? Favorite food is a tie between pizza in New York or Peruvian food.

What should your fans expect to come next? My fans should be expecting a whole lot of content next up (tapes, videos, press appearances & shows).

Follow

IG: D-Wash

Twitter: D-Wash

--

--