Future ‘Future Hndrxx Presents: The WIZRD’ Review (1-Listen Album Review)

atrebs
5 min readJan 18, 2019

--

Inspired by DJ Booth’s 1-Listen Album Review series (and Dave Portnoy’s One Bite Pizza Reviews)— I am creating my own album 1-listen album reviews. The purpose is to listen to new music with more intent and with a more discerning ear.

Straight from the gut — no rewinds, no skips, no stops. All raw reactions. Forever tattooed on virtual paper.

Let’s get it.

Update: I’ll now be writing my reviews at AdamTrebs.com. Check it out for new reviews and general Music musings.

Future Hndrxx Presents: The WIZRD

1. Never Stop

Fun humming at the beginning. Future’s coming into this project the right way. That drum drop. “Tryna run a billion up until my ankle pop”. This beat has a lot going on. Long Future verse to start the album. “Pluto” in the background. Future flowin on this. Love how he’s not starting with a catchy song. This one for the hip hop heads. 3 minutes in and straight bars. Excited to revist this one. “You can tell I been broke when you look into my eyes”. Vulnerability always gets me. Great intro track. Keep goin Hndrxx.

2. Jumpin on a Jet

One of the singles. Hook bangs. This is a classic Future song. Repetition, big bass, ad-libs in the background, drawn-out pronunciation of words.

3. Rocket Ship

21 type flow to start. Can’t help but head nod. Double speed flow. Excellent mixing. Quick song.

4. Temptation

Tay Keith! Ready for this. Build up nice. Different type of Tay Keith beat. Let’s see how Future works it. Switching his flows up. Riding the beat. He works it well. These are some quick songs.

5. Crushed Up

Another early single. “Diamonds in my face crushed up I can see it”. So catchy. Future’s in his bag rapping about riches. Wonder where he’s charging a million for a gig. I gotta get me some diamonds after hearing this. Fantastic mixing again. He’s flying through this album.

6. F&N

“Let’s go.” Riding this beat. Wooo! Dark synths. Standout so far — but doesn’t have the radio power. Let’s see how this does. F&N. F&N.

7. Call the Coroner

Drug kingpin. What an entry. Nasty flow. Def need to run this back. Feel like a drug lord on this one. Trap elbows out.

8. Talk S**t Like a Preacher

Feels like a similar flow to earlier songs. Ready for a refresher. Temptation type song would do good here. Still good. Going to enjoy it on its own. You know you’re going to get epic beats on a Future album.

9. Promise U That

This is the switch up I wanted. Tay Keith again. Another Temptation type song. Exactly what the WIZRD ordered. “Come by myself I’ma leave with your friends I can promise u that”. Followed by “They were saying I was cocky I don’t feel like I’m cocky enough”. Confident. What was that ending?

10. Stick to the Models

Haven’t heard these producer tags before. Except for that MMG laugh. Pluto! Pluto is here on this one. Most similar flow to “Never Stop”. Was waiting for another no-hook song. Hopefully he gives us at least one more in the next 10 songs. Future hooks are great but sometimes he doesn’t need em. We want the long Future flows! He’s mixing them in well.

11. Overdose

Back to the catchy hooks. “Uh huh!” ad lib. “I done fuck the face of a fan”. Classic Future line. Swag overdosed on this. Real catchy hook. This one makes me smile.

12. Krazy but True

Wheezy. Switched up on this. More sing-songy. Nice variety on the album so far. Very unique sounding beat. Future singing on this beat contrasts it well. Both a little off tune which adds to the feeling. I’m singing on this wonky beat yeah it’s crazy but it’s true.

13. Servin Killa Kam

Another catchy hook. Very catchy when he draws out the woooords. Background “Ay. Ay. Ay. Ay.” Elbows bouncing. “Count my raaacks up, take alittledope”. One of the best at flow speed changes.

14. Baptize

Ethereal beat. Back to singy Hndrxx. More traditional rapping structure. Is it just me or have rappers been loving VVS’s? Beat switch! Channeling Travis Scott. Go go go. Baptizing this beat. Excellent build up to the beat switch.

15. Unicorn Purp (feat. Young Thug & Gunna)

Ooooweee. Hard start. Nonstop brags. “We can do yachts we can do jets whenever we lunchin”. Future goin in on this flow. Long verse for a banger type beat. Perfect features. Thugga to Gunna. Phenomenal transitions. Switching off like peanut butter and jelly. Gym banger for sure.

16. Goin Dummi

Little lag to start the song. Guess we need a refresher after Unicorn Purp. But I want more bangers! That got me goin. Ok Future settling into this beat now.

17. First Off (feat. Travis Scott)

Travis sound! How soon he going to come in? Future building this up. I’m so ready for this Travis alley oop. Wow what a build. We going to get a beat switch too? Can’t count it out especially on a Travis track. No beat switch but damn another smooth transition. Seamless switch from Pluto to Trav. Would have loved that beat switch though. Was expecting a headbanger but this is a nice change for these two.

18. Faceshot

This is the beat I was expecting on First Off. Skrrt skrrt. This one is going to bang in the whip. Damn. Future trapping hard. 3 minutes of straight hype.

19. Ain’t Coming Back

“I done made it without selling my soul”. So important as an artist. But can’t hate either way. You gotta support yourself. The WIZRD is feeling very cohesive. Good transitions between songs. Future is not going overboard on any one style. He’s providing some songs for everyone.

20. Tricks on Me

The last Future song is usually one of the best on the album. This is what I come for, let’s seal the deal. Here’s another one starting with straight bars no hook. Had a feeling we’d get one more. Of course hndrxx comes through. Airy beat. Not quite on the level of some of his previous closing songs (ie. Sorry) but still very solid.

Future - Future Hndrxx Presents: The WIZRD: Final (First Listen) Thoughts

Overall, Future delivered on this. Hndrxx mixed with DS2. He flexed his variety and delivered songs for different moods. Incredible, unique beats on every track. The man can work with any beat. That’s what happens when you’re constantly in the studio. Gotta love the work ethic. I’m ready to run this back right now. Top 3 are Unicorn Purp, Faceshot, and Never Stop.

Again, I’ll now be writing my reviews at AdamTrebs.com. Peep it to see new reviews and general Music musings.

--

--

atrebs

1-Listen Album Reviews. Straight from the gut — no rewinds, no skips, no stops. All raw reactions. Forever tattooed on virtual paper.