Breath of Serenity: Your Mindful Breathing Guide to Cultivate Calm

Tay Harris
3 min readMay 7, 2024
Photo by Eduard — Unsplash

As soon as I became a mother my life became a whirlwind. I was often overwhelmed and exhausted during those early days, attempting to juggle a new born, physical pain, hormones, updating friends and family, appointments, and self-care.

Honestly, self-care went out the window. Without prioritising self-care, I quickly found that everything else on that list became an uphill battle. Until I found mindful breathing.

A couple of weeks into motherhood I began to fear bedtime. The nights were long and lonely. Scrolling through Facebook and online shopping quickly became my go to habits, just to keep my bleary eyes open. Only these did not bring me any joy.

I have always been interested in mindfulness practice. I recommend mindfulness and other strategies to people all the time. I am aware there is an evidence base to show that it helps to reduce stress. Before I became a mother though, I never really bothered to practice mindfulness myself. I am not entirely sure why; my guess is that I let a lot of my life pass me by without feeling the need to stop and take it in.

Mindfulness practices help you to become aware of your present moment, the theory is that this helps us to better understand ourselves and the world around us. When we are in tune with ourselves and the world it becomes possible to live a life with more gratitude and enjoyment in line with your values.

This deep breathing exercise saved me during those dark nights. The ones where I sat cradling my baby under the moonlight, conflicted by the immense love I felt for them and the troubling thoughts whirring in my mind. It served as an anchor to the present moment, creating a safe space for reflection, recognition, and gratitude.

Your mindful breathing starts here with these five simple steps:

1. Get yourself comfortable, allow your body to relax.

2. Close your eyes to minimise distractions within the environment.

3. Notice the natural rhythm of your breathing.

4. Take a slow, deep inhale through your nose to the count of four.

5. Release your breath slowly and steadily through your mouth to the count of six. Imagine your stress and tension leaving your body with your breath. Repeat until you feel calm and ready to stop.

Incorporating this exercise into your routine can provide clarity, along with a sense of comfort and renewal. Attach it to moments that you find challenging such as night feeds, or after a hectic school drop off.

By doing this exercise I was able to ground myself into the present moment and gently acknowledge my thoughts, recognise my needs, and act towards the self-care us mothers deserve.

Summary

Within the whirlwind that is motherhood, mindful breathing gave me strength and serenity. It guided me through the depths of exhaustion and overwhelm, helping me regulate my emotions and ensure I met my own needs as well as my baby’s.

This breathing practice is a simple lifeline that fits in even the busiest of schedules. However, it took practice and consistency to make change, as with any skill.

Next Steps

I invite you to start your mindful breathing practice today, let me know how it goes in the comments.

For wellbeing resources and strategies straight to your mailbox, sign up to the Mystery & Wisdom mailing list.

--

--

Tay Harris

Mum, writer, mental health practitioner. Founder of Mystery & Wisdom, the place for self nurture and growth within a supportive community.