…was released last year but you only just now discovered.

On this week’s menu: Neurotic compulsions and weird food perversions! Eat your Sprouts!

A tune that…

--

Need Your Love by Curtis Harding chosen by Roo
Thrashville 1/3 by Prince Daddy & the Hyena chosen by Viktor

Motivations

Roo

This is something that is quite common in life; that you missed something — be it a piece of breaking news, general knowledge, the latest food trend or that shortcut that solves your problem in half the time. Some of these things are worse than others; imagine a life without copy/paste for a moment, if you are sitting in front of a computer I bet you used it within the hour. That’s not the worst though, the worst is the food and the music. Everything else you can make up for, learn it and use it and never look back. If you acquire a taste, for me at least, it feels like I’ve been missing out all my life and it makes me want to go back to restaurants I’ve visited and re-order food with the newly found taste. Music has a duality to it. Some albums or artists I would love to have unlistened, imagine to have never listened to Clouds taste metallic by Flaming Lips; what a joy to have that discovery and pleasure ahead of you. On the other hand, if I would discover the Flaming Lips today, at this point in life — I wouldn’t have the time to listen to their catalog in a proper way. In my teens and early twenties, I could devour an album and/or artist and really devote myself to it. Now I find that I don’t have the time and that’s why I deliberate postpone some genres and even artists to a later time in life when I will have more time.

Now, this tune that I’ve chosen features a bassline straight from all the paradises of all religions combined — it’s absolutely fantastic! The tune is, of course, fantastic too; a great soul song with a punkish twist to it, perfectly delivered by the artist! I’ve really missed out on this tune. I’ve only recently discovered it and it could have been featured on our best-of lists and it could have colored my mood in a brighter color when I was feeling blue. That’s the nature of it though, you can’t find all of them tunes no matter how hard you try — and Viktor and I really try! Curtis Harding’s Need your love is the brussels sprout of last year, last semesters anchovies, and the bassline is the previous year’s truffles on top of you pasta bianco. Don’t miss out — eat and listen!

Viktor

Not sure how Counter Intuitive Records managed to sneak this one by me last year, somehow it did sail under my radar though. Perhaps I wasn’t paying enough attention, but I have a suspicion that there is something else at play here.

I was crazy about Prince Daddy & the Hyena after their EP Adult Summers and I thought I Thought You Didn’t Even Like Leaving was a fine debut album. Well after what I figured was almost 2 years of silence I decided there was about time to get some social media stalking on to figure out if there were anything in the works.

Well, Prince Daddy & the Hyena is a hyper active touring act, yet somehow they never end up playing in my neck of the woods, granted my neck of the woods happens to be a full ocean away on a different continent but if that is going to be your attitude there are always going to be excuses, aren’t there… to the point, after scrolling through a half hour worth of gorgeous gig flyers on their social media, I hit up their bandcamp on a whimm. There it was! NOW That’s What I Call Music Vol. 420.

How on earth could I have missed this last year? Mom Jeans, Prince Daddy & the Hyena and a ft. by Kississippi all on the same EP. There is also 2 songs by Pictures of Vernon who was a pleasant new acquaintance. Well, here is where my sneaking suspicion comes in but first some background.

I’m an Eccentric.

I’ve always been an eccentric. Sometimes I fear that my Excentricities are escalating but that is most likely not the case, they might be slowly warping in to new weird shapes but the sum is probably constant.

One long time Eccentricity of mine would be my extremely limited but Oh so perversely strict need to organize some particular things in my life.

It might not even normally be considered an eccentricity but given that I’m not a well organized guy, a lot of people would probably have me down as a bohemian, I take even myself by surprise when I come eye to eye with the depths of my compulsion to organize my record collection meticulously. Amidst the considerable chaos that is the rest of my reality it is puzzling and a little bit frightening to think about how much time I have dedicated to figuring out how to file split record releases. It took me years to get my collection organized in a way where the level of discomfort it brings me, that these records won’t conform to my need for coherence, became bearable.

So this is my suspicion; perhaps I have a blind spot when it comes to split releases. Don’t get me wrong, outside of the filing nightmare they constitute, I love the format. Perhaps though, maybe I subconsciously let split releases slip by, without noticing them. To think that I almost missed the brilliance that is Trashville! Mom Jeans and Pictures of Vernon have some great tracks on this splitt as well but Trashville is pure genius! The toughest thing about this challenge is to pic which of the two trashville tracks I’m going to go with but Kississippi ft. aside Trashville 1/3 is the more agile and versatile out of the two. Now all I can do is wait and long for Trashville 3/3.

…and for our next task, we will find a tune that…

…is simple yet brilliant.

As we’ve shown in the past, we do have a thing for artists who refrain from over doing things. This time it’s explicit in the premise of the challenge.

See you in 14 days!

--

--

A tune that…

We take turns challenging each other to find the perfect tune for some more or less silly premise. You find our answers here every second week. See you in 14!