Why Autistics Can’t ‘Just Do It’

An insider look at autistic inertia and why we struggle with starting or switching between tasks

Atypical-ish
8 min readDec 26, 2023
Pictured here are me (the obstinate Pug) and my responsibilities (the child on the other end of the leash). Photo by Vidar Nordli-Mathisen on Unsplash

Procrastination is my middle name, or so I’ve been told.

Everyone who knows me knows that I drag my feet and have a hard time just doing ‘The Thing’. I often simply stand and stare blankly into space when there are pressing things that need my attention—like making dinner to feed my family, getting dressed for work, and (especially) doing a load of laundry.

On the flip side, once I do get around to doing ‘The Thing’, I struggle to stop or switch to a different activity. Interruptions can be incredibly annoying when I’m engaged in hyperfocus. Then if I’m forced to turn my attention to something else other than the task at hand, I get sucked back into the loop of not being able to start ‘That Other Thing’ and just end up doing nothing at all.

Why am I like this?!

For the longest time, I believed that my ‘laziness’ was a moral failing. I bought into the notion that I was willfully avoiding tasks that I didn’t want to do. Inevitably, my harsh inner critic would shame me endlessly for not being able to do simple things as my to-do list got progressively longer and grew more unmanageable. These unhelpful thought patterns…

--

--

Atypical-ish

Late-diagnosed autistic adult sharing personal essays about autism, parenting, and mental health.