Aubrey Ware
2 min readDec 6, 2017

All it took was 13 words. 13 precious words, backed by four of the most common chords, to alter the way I walk. Jon Thurlow had written a song straight from the word of GOD, so full of glory, that when I sang it for the first time, walls fell down.

Our hearts were made to love, and our bodies were created to worship. My knowledge of Christ had been a lifelong enigma. All that was certain to me was death, taxes, and Jesus, yet His name never meant anything to me. It was always, “He’s been up there forever, and I’ll be down here for awhile. I’ll figure Him out later.” The problem was, “later” was never a goal, rather an excuse to avoid Jesus. A task so mistaken, I quickly learned that the world does not work in my time.

The transition from being a person of flesh to being a person of spirit was a consolidated journey. I feel like I missed out on so much of what GOD had intended, and I almost felt looked down upon by those who had already come to know GOD because I started my walk so late. The 13 word lyric that had the 180 degree affect was, “There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus”. It was an introduction to the Book Of Romans; the “How To” guide to my new life. I learned the only thing hindering me from not living a convicted life was Jesus Christ. Through the song “Mighty Hand”, Jesus gave me Romans 8:1 to fall back on when I let the world fall.

I got in the car after service not knowing the name of the song, just that I was changed. “Mighty Hand” was the gateway to combining my two passion, Jesus and music. The basic chord progression, strung together by a ¾ count, became the connection with Jesus I never had. I found myself spending hours learning the song on the various instruments GOD had given me, but even that was not what He had intended.

There is no one to look down on me because I have found myself in Jesus. I have no more accusers. I was already moving forward in my walk with Christ, but I could not continue growing without the separation of flesh and spirit. Certain concepts had not been made clear to me until I began to read the Gospel, which is where Romans chapter 8 made its mark on my life. With His mighty hand, and His outstretched arm alone…