And then I had drug-induced Parkinson’s

Audrey Atkinson
6 min readMar 29, 2022

--

Years ago, before I knew I was histamine intolerant, I had tried getting medical help for all the symptoms I was feeling. I was in histamine overload. It’s really hard to explain the symptoms, but it’s basically a super toxic state. Sounds would vibrate me, smells would trigger symptoms, frequent regurgitation. I needed help.

The explanation that came out of that help was that I had “generalized anxiety disorder.” My last experience article on Cymbalta, found here, was the first medication I was given in the trial-and-error experiment. I did not enjoy that round, what shall this round bring me?

I tried to explain to my healthcare professional what my experience was on Cymbalta, but that went in one ear and out the other. It made no sense to her. She moved on to trying a new drug, a SSRI instead. This time it was Cipralex.

The Cipralex immediately made me feel weird. My perception of temperature on my body had changed. Some parts of my body would feel like I’m warm, and others felt like the air’s cold. Not sure if that makes any sense. How about this way? Some parts were feeling inside, my temperature, and some were feeling the outside temperature, colder.

That was only the start. I also had this really cool (neat and temperature) sensation that happened when I laid down. I now know what I was feeling, but at the time that’s not what it felt like. It felt like all of the sudden I was buried halfway up my body in cement. Like I said, a cool feeling.

You might be wondering what on Earth that could’ve been. Yeah, I was too, for a really, really long time. It’s really hard finding experiences like these written out by people. You really are more worried about sounding crazy more than anything.

I’m not a doctor, nor have I talked to one, but I have monitored myself for the last several years and have learned many things that I’m going to be sharing throughout my articles.

I’ve noticed that I’m really sensitive to the endolymph fluid within the skin and in the lymphatic system. I can often feel the liquid draining through different areas, especially when I’m trying to sleep (the worst time!).

Now what is really cool about this feeling, neat not temperature, is how the skin drains one half of the body at a time. Head to toe. My body drains from left to right. First, it feels as though the liquid flushes all the way down the left half of the body, then fills up the left half. Then it flips and does the right half. And the warm part to this feeling, is the kidneys then drain right side to left side. I imagine this cycle keeps going. I usually pee at this point.

Anyways, so the feeling of being placed in cement was the flushing of the lymph fluid in my skin tissue, just being super freaky about it.

In the mornings I had a really annoying thing happen to me, and it only got progressively worse every day that I took this drug. So far we are at earlier symptoms that happened, I was able to last longer on Cipralex before I knew there was a real problem with me taking this drug.

When I would wake up, the big toe on my right foot was cold. It felt like it was cutoff of me, like an elastic had been around it. It felt weird. This would last until I took the drug, but return a little more intensely the following day.

The first week everything seemed okay, except for the symptoms I’ve listed thus far. I didn’t pay much attention to them at that point, but I was concerned that my toe’s circulation could have been cutoff.

The second week is when I noticed that all along on this drug, I’ve been slowing down. Based on my experience with the last drug I was put on, this was welcome, at first, but then I would start pausing, if the brain could pause. It could happen mid-sentence or mid-thought.

If it didn’t happen at those times, I would zone out for a couple minutes, standing or sitting. During one such zone out, I had a vision or a daydream. From my experience, dreams while awake are never pleasant, not ones you call visions anyway.

In this vision, I was walking eastwards on the main road in the city I’m in, on my way to pick up my son from school. I looked up, and there was a missile flying in the sky from the east to the west. I fell to my knees.

This vision, of course, provoked me to research possible blast radii of nearby nuclear power plants and possible escape routes in case of a missile attack. Of course that happened.

All that research, though, I was finding was very difficult to do. I could not sit directly in front of my computer, under the light, in front of a wall plug, or with the place where the cord plugs in the phone facing me.

Why? Why, indeed, that really is the question. Electromagnetic sensitivity is not a thing according to current science, but I can’t find anything to explain what was occurring.

I could feel the arcs of electricity come out of the wall. If I was in the arcs themselves then I could feel a pressure on me. I’m sure most people just say “headache” or “migraines,” but those who notice that they are currently feeling electricity can’t call it that.

I also started having these tremors where my limbs would start bouncing away. It made it really difficult to keep anything on the table near me because I’d likely just knock it over, especially if it were on my left side. Most issues listed were mostly left-side noticeable.

Exploding head syndrome would flare up at night. I found it was loudest near the wall outlet arcs. I do not sleep near them unless I want to jump into the ceiling. I also discovered what caused the sound in the first place. It’s a really loud draining of the lymph fluid behind the ear drum.

Another fascinating symptom I had at this time was losing the hair on the outside halves of my legs. I woke up one morning and half of leg, on both sides, is bald. Bald. My guess these days is that was some pressure-induced thing that happened from rubbing my legs on the bed when asleep.

I think the most troubling and scary side effect was the anger I was feeling. The awesome feeling I had from the Cymbalta was deleted. It was gone. I was infuriated. I was so mad. I was an experiment. I was more worse off than I was before I went to get help. I was just so angry.

On the 11th day, I decided that there’s no way that I should continue taking this drug. My anger was consuming me and it was all pointed at the health care professional, that in my opinion might kill me with their next drug choice. It was not safe for her or me to continue taking it before I go see her again, so I stopped the medication.

When I went two see her after the two weeks, I got brushed off for “medication non-compliance” it was called. I was ignored, yet again.

I did end up going to see another medical professional after this one to scan my head, since there was half-body feelings happening, to make sure there was no blood clots or tumors or anything like that.

I did not want to try to do the health care route again for figuring out what foods are not for me since that has never worked out for me. Stay tuned while I document how I found out.

--

--

Audrey Atkinson

I’m an entrepreneur, author, transcriber, closed captioner by trade, and histamine and gluten intolerant by food. Buy me a coffee here: ko-fi.com/audreyatkinson