Why Aren’t You A Billionaire Yet?

Augustus Britton
4 min readJul 7, 2020

I’m sitting next to my favorite person on the planet my older brother. We’re sitting in the $150 thousand dollar BMW he just bought with cash.

Blunts are lit. Thick smoke fills the space. We pass it. Rip.

We are parked in front of an outdoor mall. The sunroof is open. The sunlight shines on our foreheads like a disk of Godliness.

The music is blasting. Everything is perfect everything is insane. The music is loud. The speaker system glistens with sonic perfection. KC And The Sunshine Band playing.

My brother hands me an envelope. Open it he says. What is it? Just open it. I open it. It looks formal. I pull out the contents. I pass him the blunt. Weed smoke a thousand degrees. Sublime high. I peer into the contents of the envelope. It’s a check. A check made out to my brother. I read the numbers. Big numbers. The check was made out to my brother for the amount of $867 thousand dollars.

I don’t speak. He doesn’t speak. We blaze like fireballs of men. This is God speaking. Through us. Our fingertips pulsing. Lucky not to have been arrested in that car reverberating like a lava lamp of smoke glowing jade green.

My brother smiles. That is now a very wealthy smile. I am the brother of that. And these were not originally rich children, he and I. We were not…

--

--