Are we too overcritical?

Aun Abdi
3 min readAug 10, 2020
Image subject to copyright

When we think of success we often see the overcritical perfectionist that will not stop until their desires have been met. To be successful in your chosen field, there is a positive correlation between the quality of output and success. However, the quality of your work is defined by your level of experience.

When I started my first job I assumed, naively, that everyone had their own job figured out completely. To my despair I realised that this was a gross misinterpretation of the value that progression has in our lives. It took me sometime to realise that everyone is on a journey of self-discovery of who they are and what they want. It is easy to pick out a single moment in time and be self-critical of yourself or others. This is how many of us assess ourselves and the objective world around us. However, it is too simplistic.

This is why I have a certain way of seeing short-term goals. As great as I think short-term goals are, I do believe most people spend too much time planning their goals rather than taking action. This is evident during the early months of the year when budding fitness enthusiasts make plans for the year ahead. After a couple of weeks the motivation decreases and they are left wondering why. In this position the individual usually becomes self-critical of their actions often falling back into bad habits to soothe the pain. This is the cycle of life…

--

--

Aun Abdi

My name is Aun. I talk about books and projects I am passionate about.