Book: Reasons to Stay Alive

And why you need to read it

Aun Gregg
2 min readJun 29, 2022
Image by the author

I was off from Medium for two days to catch up on what I left behind; one of them was reading a book. Today, I have finished reading a famous book called “Reasons to Stay Alive” by Matt Haig.

One feeling I always have every time I finish a book is a sense of success.

This book is straightforward and has been translated into many languages, including Thai. It is viral in Thailand. Anyway, the main reason I read this book is not its popularity, but its name — Reasons to stay alive.

I have depression and anxiety, which initially pulled me into a big and steep black hole. I often thought of giving up on living, but I still had fear. Therefore, this book really triggered my inner side.

When reading the book, I felt like the writer was sitting beside me, telling his personal story to show me that I was not alone. It felt like I had a good friend who already had gotten through what I was dealing with, insisting that I would be more than fine eventually.

This book is not only for people who are dealing with mental illness, but everyone should also read it to understand how someone feels when they have to deal with anxiety, depression, panic attack, and other kinds of mental illness.

--

--

Aun Gregg

English lecturer in Thailand turned a medical assistant in America • Write about languages, self-reflection, immigrant life, and travel • aungregg@gmail.com