My ego and I are in couples therapy.

Aurora {AuraEcho}
1 min readFeb 24, 2024

--

It’s not every day you sit across from your own ego, trying to mediate peace.

My therapist, a kind soul with an endless well of patience, suggested it. „Let’s understand each other,“ she said. So, there we were, my ego puffing its chest, and I, trying not to roll my eyes.

We learned to listen. Really listen.

Turns out, my ego just wanted to protect me. It feared vulnerability, mistaking it for weakness. I saw its point, acknowledged its fears, and promised to work together, not against each other.

Here’s how you can do the same:

  1. Start by acknowledging your ego’s presence.
  2. Give it a name if you have to.
  3. Understand its fears and aspirations.
  4. Then, gently remind it that you’re in charge, but you value its input. It’s about harmony, not hierarchy.

Begin this dialogue, and watch how your relationship with yourself transforms.

--

--

Aurora {AuraEcho}

Bilingual Copywriting & Translation Services🇬🇧🇪🇸