The 13th Month

Aurum Archon
2 min readFeb 28, 2024

Real Story

Here is a story of how I made a complete stranger question the ground beneath his feet.

Confused man: GIF by stackbob

I was waiting in line to change some of my personal information for my upcoming tax returns. Unfortunately, the line was not moving at all. Time passed and it felt like we were in limbo. But for my good luck, the older gentleman in front of me was an upbeat guy with a big smile on his face. He made jokes here and there trying to start up some small talk so that we could pass the time talking about something.

He started by saying…

“Yeap, February is almost up already. 10 more months and then we will win another 12 more months of work so we can do this all over again.”

“Well it’s 13 months if you count the secret month they don’t want you to know about.” I said to him with a witty smile on my face.

“What secret month?” He asked me and I started explaining.

“Well, we got 7 days in a week right?”

“Yeah” he said with a questioning tone in his voice.

“And we have 4 weeks in a month right?”

“Yes”

“So if a year has 12 months, we should have 48 weeks in a year. But we don’t. If you divide the 365 days we have in a year by 7 you will find out that a year has 52 weeks. So where…

--

--

Aurum Archon

I am but a humble storyteller and social commentator. I am here to share my opinion, tell creepy stories, weird kooky tales and hilarious Jokes.