THE BOOK, I Really Want To Add To My Library

Retrospective

Aurum Archon
2 min readApr 22, 2024

I am talking about “THE BOOK” and yes that is really the name of the book.

It’s called “The Book”.

Ok the full title of this tome is “THE BOOK” “ Manuale definitivo per la ricostruzione della civiltà.” It is an Italian publication and the name translates to “The book. Definitive manual for the reconstruction of civilization.”

E se il mondo finisse? Niente paura c’è “The Book”, il manuale definitivo per ricostruire tutto da zero

It is part satire and par fully functional encyclopedia for everything you would need to restart civilization after a great natural disaster or war. It contains detailed instructions for everything from starting a fire and cleaning water all the way to dentistry, robots and music. On top of that, It has this funny go lucky feel to it with a Victorian/steampunk theme and as you can see it is beautifully illustrated with a huge attention to detail.

The Book, manuale definitivo per la ricostruzione della civiltà

I had the chance to flip through a copy of it and I can’t wait to own my own copy. Thankfully there is an English translation out so I will not have to be using translation apps to go through it. That said it costs about as much as a hefty university textbook. So I can see why it hasn’t it caught on yet.

--

--

Aurum Archon

I am but a humble storyteller. I am here to tell creepy stories, weird kooky tales and hilarious Jokes.