Not In Polite Company

AussieAndaYank
4 min readJun 9, 2020

I’m going to do something I promised myself I wouldn’t do in this blog. I’m going to talk about the state of our country amid current events. Please understand that I’m not going to get really political or anything like that. I mean after all, my mom did teach me there are certain things that are just not spoken about in polite company. Among them: politics, religion and money. I’m adding a forth: face masks!

To hear many online, anyone who wears a face mask is giving up their civil rights and following the deaf, dumb and blind herd over a cliff. Okay, now where to start…it’s really hard when you have so much to say and really want to rant and curse and make everyone understand just how much this pisses me off. But I’ll try to comport myself in a more professional manner,

Let’s start by saying that my home isn’t like your home. My family is unique, our family life is unique, and our collective health issues are unique. I thought this was something that was obvious, but clearly not everyone on social media understands that.

I was actually told today that I lack integrity and that I am irresponsible if I step outside because of my convictions regarding the infamous innocuous face mask. How is protecting myself and my family lacking integrity? Unless I’m gravely mistaken integrity means being true to oneself while staying true to moral principles. Is it not my moral obligation to do whatever I can to protect my fellow man?

--

--

AussieAndaYank

Two mid aged ‘Ladies’ with tonnes of knowledge and experience in the travel industry. We may not always agree but one thing we totally agree upon is cruising!