The 7 Texas House incumbents who came closest to defeat

Democrats flipped 12 red seats in the Texas House of Representatives in Tuesday’s election, cutting the Republican majority to 83–67.

Eight Republican incumbents lost their seats: Rodney Anderson, Cindy Burkett, Tony Dale, Gary Elkins, Linda Koop, Matt Rinaldi, Ron Simmons, and Paul Workman. Rep. Mike Schofield’s race (HD-132) is too close to call with one precinct yet to report and a margin of only 49 votes.

Another eight incumbents, all Republicans, barely eked out wins. These are the Texas House members who had the closest margins of victory, ranked by gross vote margin, least to greatest:

  • Dwayne Bohac (HD-138) — Won by 137 votes, 50.1% to 49.8%, one precinct yet to report
  • Matt Shaheen (HD-66) — Won by 378 votes, 50.3% to 49.7%
  • Morgan Meyer (HD-108) — Won by 440 votes, 50.3% to 49.7%
  • Angie Chen Button (HD-112) — Won by 1140 votes, 51% to 48.9%
  • Jonathan Stickland (HD-92) — Won by 1446 votes, 49.8% to 47.4%
  • Bill Zedler (HD-96) — Won by 2361 votes, 50.9% to 47.2%
  • Jeff Leach (HD-67) — Won by 2650 votes, 51.1% to 48.9%