My Journey To London

Austin Goh
2 min readAug 7, 2017

--

According to Chinese astrology, I was born in the Year of the Horse — in the state of Malacca in Malaysia on September 10th, 1954 to my mother Chung Ooi Mooi and my father Goh Ah Sang. I am a second-generation Chinese born in Malaysia.

As a child I was always sick and weak, so my mum took me to many so-called healers in temples, in order to improve my health. This was a very common thing to do in the 50’s and 60’s. I was taught a few breathing exercises by the Taoist priest in the temple.

It was a life-changing experience — my health improved greatly and I began training in energy work whenever I could. I felt stronger and moved on to martial arts training, the Shaolin Wing Chun system and energy work with my uncle.

I entered many full-contact tournaments at the age of sixteen, knocking out most of my opponents from different styles and even organized some bare-knuckle street fights to earn extra money for my trip to England. Most of my opponents were knocked down with my Wing Chun punches, so after that they nicknamed me “the boy with the iron fists.”

Malacca Temple 1959

Journey to London

At the age of eighteen, in 1972 I decided to come to London to further my studies in physical education and English. Luckily I was sponsored by my English uncle Chris Blackmore who was married to my Auntie Chiu.

After two months of living with them in the army barracks in Maidstone I had to go to London to start my studies in Woolwich College.

In order to have a few extra pounds for my studies and expenses, I decided to look for different ways to earn some money, so I taught Wing Chun kung fu to a few friends, just to earn a bit of pocket money to pay my bills.

In the evening I worked as a bouncer in a night club called Le Kilt in Greek Street, Soho. After finishing work in the club most nights I would normally go to have my supper in London Chinatown Canton restaurant, which was the only place that was open till the morning.

London 1972

--

--