How to upgrade the Ender 5 Pro firmware.

Austin Kregel
3 min readNov 26, 2020

--

TL;DR;

  1. Go to the Creality’s website and download the firmware you need. (Only download the BLTouch firmware if you need it, mine didn’t ship with it and I was able to use the Endstop version without a problem)(I think it’s the “default” firmware for boards without BL touch, but I could totally be wrong)
  2. Rename the file you downloaded to be firmware.bin and copy it to your Printer’s SD card.
  3. Power off the printer
  4. Insert the SD card into the printer and power on the printer. (It may take up to 60 seconds to flash the firmware before the logo appears, please give it time).
  5. Wait for the logo to appear.
  6. Profit.

Finding firmware

Since I couldn’t find any instructions for specifically the Ender 5 Pro, I wanted to write a little article on how to upgrade it. From what I’ve been able to find both the Ender 5 and the Ender 5 Pro should upgrade in a similar fashion.

If you’d like to download the latest official firmware for the Creality Ender 5 Pro printer, please visit Creality’s website, and not creality3dofficial.com. This is because the 3D official variant of the website doesn’t have the firmware for the Ender 5 Pro (at least at the time of this writing), it caused me (as a newb) much confusion and many wasted hours looking for a thing that didn’t exist at the time of writing…

Where’s the firmware

So visiting the Creality website, you should see something like this (assuming they haven’t done a huge redesign)

Pay attention to the link you click, as the various firmwares here are in fact different, and won’t be guaranteed to work for your printer.

Finding your board version

To find the board version of your printer, you’ll need to locate the version number of the board you’re using. At the time of writing, there are several board versions that are compatible with this printer. My printer shipped with a v4.2.2 board which is the silent motherboard upgrade, but the firmware was a little buggy with Octopi.

My board had the version printed right in the center under the big CREALITY logo

Flashing the Firmware

Once your version of Firmware is downloaded, rename the file firmware.bin This is because the board will look for a file with firmware in the title and for it to be of type bin , if it finds a file like that on the SD Card it will treat this like a firmware upgrade and attempt to flash the firmware to the board. I did a few different versions of firmware and it usually didn’t take more than about 30 seconds.

You’ll know the flash was successful when you see the logo of your firmware manufacturer. (I also tried flashing a TH3D firmware for the 4.2.2 board with these steps and it did work for me, but I had problems with my printer not responding to adjustments to my flow rate, so I went back to the Endstop firmware from creality.)

Note: The TH3D firmware mentioned above was compiled from the source, and not a provided bin file like what Creality offers. For my TH3D build, I had to compile it twice before it was successful, but your results may vary…

In the end, you should end up with upgraded firmware! If not, feel free to leave a comment!

--

--