The first book that I ever read, "I Love You Since 1892"

Austria, Angel Anne
3 min readMar 31, 2024

--

How did my passion for reading begin?

When I was thirteen years old and the pandemic was in full swing, my cousin approached me and she said, "may nabasa akong book, gusto ko i-share sayo!." I didn’t like reading books that time so I rejected her offer. "Ayoko, nakakatamad kayang magbasa. Mas gusto ko nalang manood." And after saying that, she warned me that if I didn’t read that book, I will soon regret it. In my mind, I don’t really have a plan to read it, but they say, "People Change."

During pandemic days, I prefer to watch videos about kpop, kdrama, and occasionally comedic movies instead of reading books. I usually spend my time looking for some things that are good to do. But when the summer break came, I've become someone entirely different. What I was rejecting before, turns out to be what I'm passionate about today, which surprised me. I've became a girl who loves to read and spend my time on books. However, the book that my cousin recommend has become one of my favorite book, and it is titled as "I love you since 1892" that is written by a Filipino writer, Mia Alfonso or also known as "UndeniablyGorgeous."

The book "I Love You Since 1892" was written in a community of writers and readers called Wattpad. Currently, it is being published by the ABS-CBN Books company. This is a historical fiction of the writer mixed with the genre of love about the tragic love between Carmela Isabella Montecarlos and Juanito Alfonso.

About my favorite book, what do I know?

As a short summary, this story talks about how a spoiled young woman from the present, Carmela Montecarlos, travels back in time to fulfill a task that will alter the trajectory of her great-grandmother’s life. But instead of what had previously occurred, her relationship with the young man named Juanito Alfonso developed, which caused it to become even more unstable. Carmela felt deeply hurt and the situation worsened when she believed she can change the story, but her assumptions was incorrect. She can’t change the destiny. What happened before will happen again, you can’t change the flow of life. However, there’s a one line that always ringing in my ears, it’s a line that came from Juanito Alfonso, "Ang pagbago ng tadhana ay hindi natin inaasahan, kung minsan bigla-bigla na lang tayo magigising sa katotohanan na unti-unti na palang nagbabago ang lahat nang hindi natin namamalayan."

At first, I thought this book is just a story about love which shows that love has no boundaries at all. That love can be happen to anyone in any place, any time. But this book also talks about how Filipinos live that time. It presents the tragic history of our country, on how people survive and fight the rebellions. I salute to all the people who fight and sacrifice their life for the freedom that our country wants.

When I read books, what did I learn?

Lastly, I also realize that books are not just about books that we’re reading. Reading a book can help us to escape from reality. They are our second home. Books can help us to improve our vocabulary and perceptions in life. As a last statement, I will share a quote from Victor Hugo, which is, “To learn to read is to light a fire; every syllable that is spelled out is a spark.”

--

--