Would You Want to Merge with Artificial Intelligence? A Small Survey.

Aisha Tritle
3 min readSep 4, 2018

--

Credit: Humans, AMC/Channel 4

Aisha: Would you want to be bionic? Ex: Having prostheses enhanced with AI/ML that would make you stronger, faster, more efficient, etc.

Female, aged 23: I can’t think of any prosthetic/bionic enhancement that I would want. I can envision having extra corporeal AI devices like a self-driving car or talking refrigerator, but I feel that I would become inherently dependent on prosthetic enhancements. I would prefer a device to enhance my biological and physical functions, instead of replacing them.

Male, aged 21: The kid in me says “Heck yes! Of course I want a bionic arm to be able to punch through walls, or bionic legs to run super fast.” But if I were to think about it realistically, I would quickly see some deal-breaking downsides. It’s a permanent decision to lose a natural appendage and the benefits that come with it such as: the sensation of touch (assuming that technology doesn’t exist yet), and the human struggle of perseverance to gain and maintain strength which produces character. Now, if I had lost an appendage and there was an opportunity to regain the functionality, I would do it in a heartbeat. Additionally, a non-permanent augmenting option is more tempting because it removes the danger of regret while still allowing for increased abilities. In short, though, I would say no to fully replacing a functioning body part.

Them, aged 29: I like efficiency and the idea of having bionic limbs seems really interesting because of all the things you could accomplish, but faster and better. I don’t like the idea of them being enhanced by artificial intelligence though, because I feel like there is always a chance of serious problems erupting. The idea of having a bionic arm go on the fritz is really scary — especially if it is exponentially stronger than a normal human.

Male, aged 50: I would want to be bionic if my current body didn’t provide the energy and strength I need. I’ve found that sensing any need for strength or energy in my current body encourages me to exercise, which then has brain and cardiovascular benefits, and builds my own will power. So, I wouldn’t want to give up that incentive. Could bionics make us lazy?

Aisha: Would you be down to have an AI implant in your head if it would enhance your own intelligence greatly?

Female, aged 23: I would be interested in seeing the effects of an intracranial AI implant, but I would not want one personally. It’s kinda creepy to think of an artificial intelligence being physically inside my head. Like, what if someone figured out how to hack the system? Then, they would have literal control of my mind.

Male, aged 21: This one is quite tempting. It’s difficult to find any cons in becoming more intelligent via AI implant. To be able to process information faster, remember more thoroughly, and strategize more effectively seems like a no brainer. I do, however, have a few concerns. I may feel like I’m “cheating the system” by enhancing my own intelligence — thus, giving myself an unfair advantage over others. At the same time, if everyone starts enhancing their own intelligence, I will feel obligated to follow suit so as not to fall behind mentally. Furthermore, if everyone has this, is there any relative advantage?

The prospect of becoming more intelligent for intelligence’s sake does outweigh my concerns, though. So assuming there were no side effects, high procedural dangers, and the price of this enhancement was a non-issue, I would say yes to this.

Them, aged 29: I would be 100% against having an artificial intelligence implant in my brain because technology is so easily corrupted by the simplest of methods. The modern world has proven that the strongest firewalls are passable and the most encrypted data can be uncovered. It would be too easy to take control of someone’s mind and it probably wouldn’t require a high degree of skill.

Male, aged 50: I would be very concerned about hacking of any AI that contributes to brain/cognitive function. If the hacking were somehow made impossible (which I don’t believe is possible), then I would only want AI if needed for me to successfully compete in the marketplace in order to provide for my family.

Would you want to merge with AI? Check out our poll here.

--

--

Aisha Tritle

VP of Insights & Analytics, YouGov Signal. Working with most major film studios. All views are my own.