Autistic Meltdowns Serve a Functional Role in Emotional Processing

Autie Adventures / Julia Maher
1 min readFeb 20, 2024

--

I used to think of meltdowns as a scary thing that should be avoided. Now, after reflecting on my experiences more, I realize that they are just a way for me to regulate and process my emotions.

I experience alexithymia, which means that I have a hard time identifying and describing my emotions. I don’t realize when my emotions are building up in day-to-day life. So, the only way my body can release the emotions is all in one go, through a meltdown.

Although meltdowns can still be scary, they are just a way for me to understand myself better. One trigger sets off my emotions, and only then do I have clarity about what I’ve been feeling lately. It’s a blessing and a curse. Now that I understand their function, I am not as scared and I know what to expect.

--

--

Autie Adventures / Julia Maher

Autistic woman with a special interest in autism & neurodiversity, sharing post-diagnosis insights through my favorite art form