iPhone XS Max vs Professional Camera

Austin Baker
3 min readOct 17, 2018

--

After spending more money on a phone than on my camera…it lead me to wonder; can the iPhone XS Max replace my professional camera?

Sony a6300

Most people are aware of the hit and miss of smartphone photography. Usually, it’s pretty good, but we all have terrible photos like this:

iPhone XS Max

What are we gonna do?

My plan is to take a bunch of photos with each of them in various environments and then break them down and see how well they perform right out of the camera. The main objective here is simplicity. I want this to feel like anyone who picks up one of these devices can capture good pictures, regardless of editing.

Sony a6300

Typical Photography

The first location revolves around typical photography. We will be taking pictures of my nephew in his natural habitat (his playroom) with no additional lighting. The objective is to see how well these two devices do when you just want to capture a special moment of your child.

Sony a6300 (left), iPhone XS Max (right)

Professional Shots

After getting some cute pics of my nephew, I decided I needed some new headshots. So I headed home, set up a backdrop with some lights, and got the cameras out to see if they could replicate a professional headshot.

Sony a6300 (left), iPhone XS Max (right)

True Challenge

My next idea was to truly challenge the iPhone. I wanted to put it in a situation I thought it would fail. So I grabbed both the cameras and headed downtown. I thought city shots at night would be the perfect environment.

Sony a6300 (left), iPhone XS Max (right)

My take away

Honestly, I spent some time editing all the photos above. I did simple corrections to make sure they looked good but I was surprised how much control I actually had over the iPhone’s photo. Out of the camera, I’m a firm believer that the raw iPhone’s image looks better. (I’m going to post some raw photos soon just need to get them off my other hard drive) If you are looking for something to take great family photos and are ready to share, look no further than the iPhone. If you want to start learning photography and some of the controls and editing that comes with it, then a professional camera is definitely a good buy…

--

--