A Conversation at Vans Fort Collins

Ave Martin
8 min readFeb 13, 2018

--

gif by Alethia Lunares

Though sneakers are merely an affordance crafted of a few materials sewn together to cover our feet, they are capable of so much more. (Don’t tune out, the corniness will be over soon.) They can serve as a conduit, a tether that leads us to one another helping us connect on levels we would never anticipate. Through my adoration of Vans, I was given the opportunity to converse with a pair of brilliant women who work in the Vans store within the Shops at Foothills: Lindsie (aka Linny) & Victoria. From powerlifting to Yoda on a flower, here is our conversation.

Ave: “Let’s begin with why you’re here. What got you into Vans, and what is it about Vans that you prefer over other brands?”

Victoria: Hmm, mine is an interesting one. I don’t mean to be lengthy, but first and foremost, I’m not originally from Fort Collins, I’m originally from Southern New Mexico. Our nearest Vans there was an Outlet about 45 minutes away. I moved [to Fort Collins]because my boyfriend is in graduate school at CSU, but what brought me to Vans was how genuine it is. I’ve worked retail before at Holister, but there’s something about Vans that’s very history derivative, that’s what sets them apart. Everyone that comes in the store has a story, everyone that comes in is like ‘I remember my first pair’ or ‘The ones I have on are 4 years old!’ There’s that sense of connection that I think sets us apart from a lot of shoe brands.

Lindsie: I’ve been with Vans for, going on 6 years. I’m originally from Hawaii, that’s where I started working, at the outlet store there. It started as a temporary job after I finished high school, but then I just fell in love with the company and the people. One of the reasons I fell in love with Vans is that corporate is so involved with us tiny retail stores. Steve Van Doren, (the son of Paul Van Doren, founder of Vans) would go to Hawaii every year, I’ve met him several times. He’s in Colorado a lot too, they’re all involved. They’re all about personal creativity, being who you are, that’s why we have the customizable shoes online, like “Well you don’t like what we sell, then you can make em’ yourself!” I used to like Converse a lot, and I had a couple Nikes, but ever since I’ve worked here it’s been Vans all the way.

V: You bring up a good point [about corporate]. I’ve met Cristy Johnson [Vice President of Retail Operations] and, even though we’re lower volume than the bigger Denver stores, when Cristy came to this store, the way she spoke with and interacted with us was very down to earth — it wasn’t very “corporate big whig.” They’re all very involved. Along with Cristy Johnson we’ve had Kevin [Bailey] come in, we’ve had plenty of corporate people come in, and the fact that they made it up here to Fort Collins —

L: — Instead of just staying in Denver, that makes us feel important.

V: Oh yeah, definitely. What makes our company so strong is that bond. It may sound cliche and we joke around and say, “Aww we’re a family,” but we really are.

L: All the way up to Steve Van Doren, we’ve met everyone on every level, they’re so involved.

A: So it’s not just some suits that come in to evaluate.

V: Yeah! That’s what’s really cool about [them].

L: Someone from back home (Hawaii), that’s actually working at corporate now posts [the office] on their Snapchat. They have a skate ramp in the middle of the office, and game rooms. People there are tatted, no one’s wearing suits, it’s just laidback — chill. Exactly how they want the retail stores to be.

A: So they fit the culture.

V: Definitely, when Cristy came she was wearing a shirt we sell, that was so cool to see. There aren’t any suits and clipboards, it’s that connection that sets us apart.

A: (To Victoria) So Lindsie mentioned that she’s been here for 6 years, how long have you been with Vans?

V: A year and a half. So not as long, but when I started I didn’t even foresee it as being this long. Now I don’t wanna leave. I’ll be honest, it started as “just a job” to get myself established, but now I foresee a future here.

A: And remind me of your positions if you don’t mind.

V: I’m the Assistant Manager.

L: And I’m Floor Supervisor.

A: Alright gold, so now into some specifics. What were your first pair of Vans?

L: So my very first pair of Vans, I was a sophomore in high school and a Vans opened up in a shopping mall near my house. It was about 2011, and at the time Vans did a collaboration with Crayola Crayons. So I got a pair of Era’s that literally looked like someone scribbled over them in black crayon and it had a rainbow checkerboard pattern. I still have them by the way.

The coloring is inside the lines, but still Off-The-Wall.

V: I was a freshman in high school, and it was after the Vans Warped Tour came to my small town. They were some red Authentics. What were yours?

A: Ah, mine were in 5th grade? Maybe it was 6th grade, I wanna say it was middle school. I had the blue pair of Old Skools, the navy blue and the lighter blue.

V: Oh the two-tone blue?

A: Yup! The two-tone blue Old Skools! I fell in love with that silhouette ever since.

A: So Lindsie (I wanted to call her Linny, but I knew I wasn’t cool enough) you mentioned you’re from Hawaii. How did the surf and skate culture [of Vans and Hawaii] influence you?

L: Oh yeah, definitely. I attempted surfing because my brothers were into it, but I have absolutely no balance whatsoever, but I ended up falling in love with diving, so I was in the water nearly every day. Vans had a lot of shoes that I could just wear to the beach and go straight to work or school. They’re also super involved with surf culture, they have the Vans Triple Crown every year, so I would ditch school to go watch the surf competition!

A: With good reason!

L: Yeah! It was great. Vans is also a part of A.skate and Surfers Healing programs which teach kids with special needs how to surf and skate. I’ve been to a Surfers Healing programs in Hawaii — what they do for those kids is amazing.

A: Tell me more about [Surfers Healing].

L: So they’re about once a year, we actually sell bags here to raise money for it. They close down Waikīkī Beach just for this, children with special needs come and we take them out on the surfboards and teach them how to surf. The parents were so grateful, if not for this opportunity, these kids wouldn’t have the chance to do that. Most times they would be turned away because of safety concerns, but Vans got with the right people and were able to put it on. A.skate is the same way.

A: Wow, that’s really cool. Do either of you have collections?

V: (Gestures to Lindsie) She most definitely does.

L: The most I had at one point was about 130 shoes. I have about 40 pairs back home, and 50 here now. I had to tone it down a bit when I moved, but I’m creeping back up there now. I got 3 pairs in 2018.

V: I think Jenny our store manager has over a hundred.

L: It’s definitely an addiction.

A: (To Victoria) How about you?

V: Right now I have 12. I’m slowly branching out. I usually play it safe with the colors, but I’m slowly starting to get a variety —

L: Oh I always go for the crazy ones.

V: Tell him about your rule!

A: Rule?

L: Okay, so my rule is, if I buy shoes that we sell in-store, I don’t wear them until we get rid of them because it makes them feel more one-of-a-kind. Except for the classics of course. But I have fruit [patterned] ones, I have ones with skeletons surfing on pizza, I have cat collage, dog collage, just wild and crazy. Usually I buy shoes and won’t wear them for about 5 months.

A: So you try to keep it as rare as possible.

L: Oh yeah.

V: See, I’m more on the practical side, I’m like, “Will it match?” But like I said, I’m slowly branching out.

A: What are your favorite silhouettes?

V: Definitely Old Skool.

L: I’m torn between Old Skool and Authentic. Those are the two go-tos.

V: I guess it depends on the use. I lift in the high-tops, wear the slip-ons at work, and Old Skools for everything else.

A: What is it about each of the styles that you like specifically?

L: The Old Skools just look good with everything. I can wear them with dresses in the summer, jeans, leggings, shorts, literally anything. Then with Authentics, they’re just classic. They were the first pair that Vans came out with in 1966.

V: So I do powerlifting, old school style powerlifting: bench, squat, & deadlift. For that, the high-tops are the best. I like the flatness of them, and of course the look of them.

A: Really? I’ve never really heard of Vans being used for lifting.

L: They’re the best.

V: It’s very new. Most times you’ll see Converse, Nike, Adidas. But my boyfriend’s sister did a powerlifting competition in North Carolina and I believe she was one of the only people wearing Vans. She had a pair of Sk8-Hi Lites, all black, that’s what she lifted in. Mind you, she has a $200 pair of Adidas powerlifting shoes, and she chose the Vans. To see that was really cool. It’s something on the come-up. That’s a “me” thing.

A: You’re a pioneer!

V: I like to think so!

A: Is there a Vans collab [collaboration outside of the skate world] that’s your favorite?

V: Next week we actually have a collaboration with Metallica. Back in the day, obviously before I started working here, there was an Iron Maiden collab that I loved. We also got word of A Tribe Called Quest collab in March, so that’s something to look forward to. I’m a music person more than a sneakerhead, but when those worlds come together it’s great. Any music collab will be my favorite. (Turns to Lindsie) What’s your favorite collab?

*Prepares bank account*

L: Star Wars! Hands down my favorite.

A: Do you have a pair from the collection?

L: I have all of them, no question. The slip-ons with the “New Hope” poster on them, the Eras with the comic strip, another pair of slip-ons that were all black with Darth Vader on them, Authentics that were like, a Storm Trooper bandana pattern, those were cool; Boba Fet [Authentics] as well. And some Sk8-Hi’s with an Hawaiian print that had Yoda sitting in a flower. (She said with a laugh).

Vans, regardless of how much hype they receive, regardless of how many celebrities and “pretentious teens” sport them, have always been, and will remain for the culture. This culture began on West Coast shores in 1966, and is still found in every sole across the globe — including Fort Collins, thanks to Victoria, Lindsie, and the family at Vans @ Foothills.

--

--