CS371p Fall 2021: Avery Crawley

Avery Crawley
2 min readNov 13, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

There wasn’t as much academically on plate as there usually is this past week. I completed my weekly assignment for my Public Communication of Science and Technology (PCST) course, attended lectures, and made progress on the Darwin project for CS371p. Outside of school, I got to celebrate with my best friend for his birthday which included a spontaneous six mile hike, and my legs have yet to fully recover.

What’s in your way?

My biggest challenge continues to be achieving a healthy balance between life, school, and work. I’ve gotten more comfortable with asking for time off from work when I need it which has been really helpful in managing my time.

What will you do next week?

I will finish the Darwin project for CS371p, complete my weekly assignments for my other classes, complete an essay assignment for PCST, and prepare for my week-long visit home for Thanksgiving. I’ll also go to the UT Creative Arts and Theatre production of Madrigal on Thursday night.

What did you think of the Paper #12: More Getters and Setters?

I thought Paper #12 was an interesting expansion upon last week’s paper about getters and setters. I was most intrigued by how the author explained the best alternative to using getters and setters as implementing user interfaces for objects themselves.

What was your experience of initializations, copy constructor, copy assignment, move constructor, and move assignment?

The differences between terms like “copy assignment” and “copy constructor” can be confusing to distinguish and identify within code so I expect to closely read over the notes from last week’s class a few more times before I have it all down. I enjoyed learning about the move constructor/assignment and how it works.

What made you happy this week?

This week, an acquaintance from a UT student org that I’d been low-key crushing on asked me out! I was really excited to finally get her number, and I’m looking forward to our first date tomorrow :)

What’s your pick-of-the-week?

One of my favorite YouTube channels, Two Minute Papers, posted a video yesterday about the improvements in learning-based algorithms that develop high resolution images from very low resolution input images. It’s so cool to see how much artificial intelligence technology has improved, and the results from this new super resolution technique is absolutely amazing.

--

--