A month of no social media

Avinash Pandey
4 min readJan 24, 2019

--

On December 23rd, 2018, while browsing Instagram, I suddenly realized that I was scrolling same posts for the 5th time that day. Even when there was no notification on my phone, I would pick it up and open one of the apps (Instagram or Facebook). Even a slight feeling of boredom or desire for a break would make me do the same. It had become muscle memory. Out of nowhere, I would pick up my phone and just start scrolling stories or posts.

It made me feel so guilty of wasting time that I deleted both apps. It was a step taken out of frustration. I knew I am going to install them back in a couple of hours. And I would forget the feeling because of which I’d deleted them. I believe that forcing is not the best strategy when you want to get rid of some habit. I wanted to reach a state where I have all these apps on my phone but opening them only when needed.

I thought of this experiment of not being on social media for a month and then publishing my experience. This blog is about that.

I will start with why I got hooked into these apps. Then I’ll share the transition period of too much into social media to no-social media. And what I learned overall.

Social content consumer to creator

I was a social media introvert. I would rarely post anything. I would think 10 times. Would only post something which was either posted by someone influential or I really really found it interesting (10% chance of this going online as well).

When it came to pictures having me or only of me, I would first send it to my friends and ask them if I could post it.

So what changed?

I built a nice physique. Yes, I started working out. One day I took my first ever shirtless picture. I thought it looked good. So I sent it to a friend. Then another friend. Both male and a female friend. To get feedback from the whole demographic. They approved it saying it can be posted online. So with a heavy heart. I wrote a post. And after deleting it a couple of times. I finally posted it. My first ever topless picture. My chest first time saw the outside virtual world.

I got really good feedback. Friends were wow about my physical transformation. That opened up a new personality. Social introvert to extreme social extrovert (people who post their own pictures showing muscles and abs).

So I started posting workout videos and in general all kinds of posts.

First few days of no-social media

It was a new year time. So it was a perfect time to be away from social media. This is when you will see most of the stories and posts shared. It was more tempting for me because the next day I went for a road trip to Jaipur and Udaipur from Pune. I thought for a moment to re-install these apps and delete them later on. But I decided to control my temptation. I learned something important here. When I was seeing something nice or going to a beautiful place, my first intuition was to pick up my phone and start taking pictures and videos in order to make an awesome Instagram post. I wanted everyone to know that I am having a great time and I am seeing this beautiful view.

Second thing, my muscle memory of picking up my phone in 15 minutes interval was still there. It’s just after picking it, my brain was confused about what to do with it. I can not open Instagram and scroll the posts. So what else could be done with this device? So let’s call my family. I started calling my folks more. Even they were surprised and asked if everything was ok with me. This habit of picking up phone took some time to go. It’s not easy to live without letting your “virtual” friends and followers know what you are doing or seeing what they are doing. But I believed that this too shall pass. I will find another way of being happy.

Realization

I realized that my attention span had become too short. Even a slight feeling of boredom or having silence would make me pick my phone and go back to my virtual social world. I didn’t see time passing. I could be alone and not feel lonely (definitely not in a spiritual way). Then iPhone’s screen time came. I happen to look at it. And saw that I invested more time on social media than even talking to a real person. Below is before and after screenshot of my iPhone’s screen time.

Whats now

Now I don’t feel the need to pick up my phone. My screen time has reduced significantly. When I go out with someone, I hardly pick up my phone. I take fewer pictures or feel the need to let everyone know about it. Now I get more time, I didn’t know what to do with it. So I started learning AI (artificial intelligence) thanks to my good real-world friend. I make more plans to hang out with friends. It feels more natural now.

These apps are not bad. It’s just we should be aware of how much time we are spending on them. We should not make them replace what is important for us. That is family, friends and TIME.

--

--