I’m taking a semester off.

Abhi Vyas
2 min readNov 13, 2017

--

From my visit to SF for 36 hours.

I’d like to start this piece with a quote that I’ve repeated so many times that my friends think I came up with it:

“Magic Lies on the Other Side of Fear.”

For a long time I’ve feared learning to code, I don’t know why. Maybe it’s because of my sub-par math skills. Or maybe that’s just what I tell myself because I’m afraid.

I don’t know what it is but it doesn’t matter because I’m doing it anyways. I’m taking a semester off and spending it in San Francisco at Horizons School of Technology.

Why jump off the cliff?

Jumping off a cliff and building a plane on the way down.

For those who know me, I often say that I like to live at the edge of my comfort zone. This is no different. The thought of taking a semester off, living on the west coast, and learning to code scares me. Latent behind my fear is excitement. Excitement towards new experience, meeting new people, and being in an environment I’d like to be in.

This past semester has been rough. As a junior in a Business School that is driven by Finance job placement numbers. The only thing my peers seem to care about is which bank has a better offer letter.
**this is a gross generalization, I know not everyone cares about this.

I need to take some time off and give myself space from the constant external pressures of achieving, “success.” Having my own definition definitely helps. To me success is building things that impact people and enjoying the process of doing so.

I don’t know where or how exactly I’ll get there but this is just a part of the journey. I’ll be sure to document it and share my lessons along the way if I can get a break from coding.

Let me know if you can come visit, you now have a friend in SF. =D

If you made it this far, don’t leave without watching:

If you haven’t already, check out this vlog I made with the help of Aman Purba’s editing.

--

--