Aya Saeed
4 min readJul 30, 2023

What happened to my legs after a week of daily 5-minute wall sits?

You are mistaken if you believe that a five-minute wall sit will be easy. A five-minute wall sit every day for a week is not a physical challenge for the weak-willed; to learn more, I decided to incorporate them into my morning routine for seven days. Discover what transpired by reading on.

This task seemed like it would be simple. I thought I would be able to jump out of bed and lean against the wall while checking my phone for anything I missed over night because I am a runner and a personal trainer, and I have quite powerful legs. I was

What are the definition, instructions, and advantages of a wall sit? 
Let's begin by discussing the wall sit:
1. To enter a wall, sit down and lean against it. Then, lean against it until your thighs are parallel to the floor.
2- Step your feet forward, keeping your knees at a straight angle and your calves parallel to your thighs.
3. Face the wall with your back firmly against it.
4- Maintain this posture for one minute, if you can.
Want to make things more difficult? To provide further resistance, place a weight plate or the best adjustable dumbbells over your quads.
When performing the wall sit, I frequently observe folks who are cheating since their legs aren't at a correct angle and they are sliding up the wall. Alternately, they might be leaning forward or have stepped their feet too far forward instead of pressing their backs against the wall, which finally relieves some of the pressure on the legs. To get the most out of holding a wall sit, you should make sure your form is correct.
When performing the wall sit, I frequently observe folks who are cheating since their legs aren't at a correct angle and they are sliding up the wall. Alternately, they might be leaning forward or have stepped their feet too far forward instead of pressing their backs against the wall, which finally relieves some of the pressure on the legs. To get the most out of holding a wall sit, you should make sure your form is correct.
Here is what happened after I performed a 5-minute wall sit every day for a week.
Really, this was difficult. Although I had assumed that five minutes would go quickly, after just 60 seconds, I had to stand up and shake my legs. Then, until I reached five minutes, I had to do this every 30 to 45 seconds. Another time, I resisted the urge to shake my leg for 90 seconds. But my maximum was truly 90 seconds. I learned a lot from this challenge and now have something to work on in the gym.
I feel and look stronger in my legs.
Although it could just be in my brain, holding a wall sit for five minutes while maintaining quad strain has significantly improved my strength. I feel they appear more distinct when I look in the mirror seven days later. Perhaps it's not all in my brain after all; research suggests that the amount of time a muscle is under tension can affect muscle growth. Confused? You can learn more about time under strain and if it can aid in muscle growth here.
I COULD FEEL MY CORE MUSCLES FIRING UP
As I mentioned, the core is working during a wall sit. It's essential to keep your core engaged throughout the wall sit, as you need your abs to work to hold you upright and keep you stable. I definitely felt this one in my core, as well as my legs.
MY GLUTES WORKED OUT
In a wall sit, all the muscles in the legs are engaged since it is predominantly a lower body exercise. The largest and most significant muscle in the body, the glutes, are included in this. Despite the fact that your quadriceps are actually working the hardest during a wall sit, if you consciously focus on how your glutes are supporting you, you'll notice a slight increase in muscle activity.
I AM SURE TO DO MORE WALL SITS
Seriously, there are so many muscle advantages to this incredibly addictive workout. Never before have my quads exerted themselves as much as they did during a five-minute wall sit. As a physical therapist, I will undoubtedly incorporate more wall sits into my gym courses and challenge my clients to see how long they can perform this lower body workout.
I performed a daily five-minute wall sit for a week, and this is what I found.
Although I was unable to complete it, it was one of my favorite tasks. Yes, I had to give up on every wall sit since my legs could not support them for five minutes, but because of the advantages, I will keep using wall sits in my strength training. I should also mention that my legs are fairly powerful, so anyone can do this workout, from beginners to more experienced gym goers.
The wall sit has been a humble workout that uses a variety of muscles, keeping them tense and requiring them to work hard, develop stronger, and finally, expand. In the future, I'll incorporate wall sits into my lower body workouts at least twice a week. Keep an eye on this space; I'll soon be able to maintain a five-minute wall sit!