Uganda Entry 7 -Not wrong, But not what I would say

Ayat Amin
3 min readDec 17, 2018

--

Ugandans speak English, but they speak it differently than an American. It’s different enough that I am constantly doing a double take. I feel like I’m living in a Thesaurus. The words they use by definition aren’t wrong, there are just not the words I would use in America. Especially true for verbs. It’s like they made a deal to replace every verb commonly used in America with a synonym. I’ve compiled a short list of things they say differently.

They say: He is admiring you.

They mean: He thinks you are pretty.

They say: He was knocked by a boda.

They mean: He was in a boda accident.

They say: My phone has gone off.

They mean: My phone has died. (battery is dead)

They say: My phone has died.

They mean: My phone has broken ( broken where need a new phone)

(This caused concern from the Ugandans. Every time I said my phone died, they thought I needed a new phone.)

They say: You are disturbing me.

They mean: You are bothering/annoying me.

They say: We are moving together.

They mean: We are going for a walk together.

They say: I fear.

They mean: I am afraid.

They say: You extend.

They mean: Please move out of my way.

They say: I have defeated you.

They mean: I’m right. You are wrong. Or I am better than you.

They say: I add you tea.

They mean: I give you more tea.

They say: It has gone.

They mean: I can’t remember.

They say: First wait.

They mean: You wait.

They say: I defeat you by 1.

They mean: I am older than you by a year.

They say: You’re not used.

They mean: You are not used to doing this.

They say: We are going the other side.

They mean: We are going there.

They say: My brother follows me.

They mean: My brother is younger than me.

They say: You get me?

They mean: Did you understand me?

They say:

I am going for a long call.

I am going for a short call.

They mean:

I am going to the bathroom (to poop).

I am going to the toliet (to urinate).

They say: I am called Ayat.

They mean: My name is Ayat.

They say: I produced 2.

They mean: I have 2 children.

They say: I graph you.

They mean: I’ll take a picture of you.

They say: You are smart.

They mean: You look nice today.

They say: We locamote.

They mean: Lets move.

They say: He has bad manners.

They mean: He is rude.

They say: Let us branch here.

They mean: Lets us detour this way.

They say: She has refused.

They say: She rejected me.

They say: Send me a plate.

They mean: Give me a plate.

They say: That is what.

They mean: What is that.

They say: You poured here.

They mean: You spilled your drink.

They say: I am satisfied.

They mean: I am full.

They say: Your English is slippery.

They mean: Your English is hard to understand.

They say: You are deceiving me.

They mean: You are lying to me.

--

--