Hi UX-Design community

Aylar Yashar
2 min readJul 25, 2018

--

My name is Aylar (it is pronounced like ilar), I started learning UX-Design recently and I wanted to say Hi! to the community.

My study includes user experience design, user research, information architecture, user interface and visual design, illustration, facilitation, storytelling, prototyping and A/B testing, usability testing, product management, design sprints, and working with tools like Figma, Sketch, and Webflow.

I’ve studied Economics (master’s degree) and my background is in marketing. I wanted to try something new and I found UX design as something that I’d love to do.

In the marketing industry, we also focus and invest on users quite a lot because everyone is aware of the impact. However, there are some fundamental differences that make them nothing even close to each other.

For instance, In marketing, you also set the goal for the users and you favor your actions for their satisfaction but the problem starts from the very beginning, you literally call them customers most of the times and not users. And although that sound negligible and unimportant, that simple term is enough to make them two separate experiences.

Another example is the drive and vision. Although in a strong industry, as an expert marketer, you are setting your goals and actions in favor of user, the big picture, the vision, and the drive behind everything is coming from making more profit. While in user experience design the drive is to make more value for the user which eventually leads to more success for the business as well.

And these fundamental differences are not essentially bad or negative, it just meant that I had to rethink everything that I learned during 5 years working in marketing and start over with when it comes to designing the user experience.

That being said, I really believe having that experience will help me a lot in the future.

Hi UX design community, I have studied UX design in Amsterdam and going to start my journey in this lovely community.

I’m just graduated. I’ve read, and I’m reading several books in addition to my study at the moment. If you have any advice for me as someone that just started in UX design in order to learn more or find a job, please share it with me.

Thanks for reading and I appreciate your comments.

My reading list:

  • Don’t Make Me Think by Steve Krug
  • Lean UX by Jeff Gothelf and Josh Seiden
  • Visual Thinking by Willemien Brand
  • Articulating Design Decisions by Tom Greever

--

--

Aylar Yashar

I'm a Product, UX, and UI Designer. I do research, facilitation, digital product design, user experience, and user interaction design.