Unconditional Love

Why Does It Melt Our Hearts?

Sienna Aylin
2 min readMay 6, 2024
Unconditional Love Why Does It Melt Our Hearts?
Photo by Krista Mangulsone on Unsplash

I love the sound of little paws on the floor when I come home. Pure, unconditional joy.

Mira, my puppy, always greets me with boundless happiness. No matter how tough my day was, when I see her, all seems to pass.

Do you feel that connection? It’s like a smile spontaneously curls up on your face. I get it.

Pets don’t ask for a resume of your feelings.

They just… love unconditionally.

There was a time when I shunned the idea of having pets.

Too much hassle, I thought, and I was working so much that I genuinely didn’t have the time to look after a little critter.

But a friend of mine, a veterinarian, said something that stuck with me: “When you experience unconditional love, nothing else matters.”

How could I say no to that? I adopted Mira. She changed everything.

Step by step, toy by shredded toy, she even has a peculiar penchant for gnawing on my shoes and once, the corner of my nightstand.

You know that look? The one they give you that seems to say, “You’re my whole universe.”

It’s like all your worries numb. I’m right, aren’t I?

How do I feel when greeted by Mira? Reborn. Life, even when it sucks, becomes… bearable.

No, more than that, it becomes colorful. Mira is my rainbow after a rainy day.

I have this old, funny quote stuck on my fridge, but oh, it’s so true: “If you want someone to love you forever, buy a bed… and a dog.”

And it all makes sense. Because, seriously, who else greets you like that when you come home? And with such enthusiasm?

A pet is like a band-aid for the soul. They bring that “something” when everything feels upside-down.

Believe it or not, their love makes us more human.

I think we should learn from our furry friends how to love unconditionally, no matter what we go through.

Have you ever felt the unconditional love of an animal? I’d love to hear your stories and meet your furry companions.

Unconditional Love Why Does It Melt Our Hearts?
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

--

--