How I spent my 20s

Ayodeji Janet
2 min readJul 12, 2020

--

Age 20 is considered early adulthood, during this time one is considered to be old enough to take decisions for oneself. When I was in my 20s my mum died. I had graduated and in search of job in full force, those who promised me before mama died stopped talking to me. At that time, my friends had good paying jobs while i was on my own having tough and difficult times.

Fortunately, i landed myself good paying jobs, I was out under pressure by my friends to travel and shop with them at nicest places, to watch movies at luxurious cinemas and eat at exotic restaurant every other weekend. I couldn’t do all that because of my plan for future. I refused to spend the little I had lavishly over expensive clothes, designers bags just to keep up with my friends.

I once lived off my friends for sometime before I finally got my own place. While my friends lived in a luxurious houses, I could only afford a small one-bedroom apartment. I saved and managed myself the way I dimmed fit, I had fun because am not the boring type, just not the lavish type.

I didn’t spend my 20s trying to keep up with my peers, it was to work hard, give myself as much leisure benefits I could afford that won’t derail my future plans and to give value in my place of employment because I knew at 35, I needed to have learnt enough, made the right connections and shown of an assets i am to be able to start my own company.

Meanwhile, I was so focused, I accelerated faster than I thought I would and started my own company at 30. I’m writing this for you who’s in your 20s, to take deep breath and find balance , to find ways to invest now because the earlier you begin the better.

I hope you have plan because life comes at you hard as you grow older and if you don’t have a plan, there’s nothing to guide the swift decisions you may have to take. There’s so much goodness ahead of you, I hope you see it, I hope you do it, I hope you don’t lose sight of it.

--

--