A photo of Mrs Omolola Ikumapayi — My amiable Anty!

EULOGY: The Good Heart!

A tale of The Underlying Essence of Hardwork, Toil & Diligence

Ayooluwa Adeleke
3 min readSep 9, 2021

--

“Ayooluwa Emmanuel Adeleke”

Each time I hear my full name yelled out loudly in the neighborhood, I am rest assured it's no other person.

My elegant and soft-spoken teacher who had taught me in Primary 5 at Catlad School.

The invaluable essence of Work, Toil & Industry.

'Anty is coming' Utters the classmate who had probably just returned from filling his water-bottle at the school tap and had suddenly sighted Anty from a distance. He would run into the class and mutter gently so that everyone would shiver and get their shits together.

The fellow who by this time has not had his assignment book along with the popular Lantern's Quantitative and Verbal Reasoning texts on Anty's table has just been warned of the impending danger that would befall him if he doesn't do the needful.

Upon the habitual recitation of the Multiplication Table that would echo across every other class right after Morning Assembly,

It was the norm for the Primary 5 class to recite quite a number of language (Yoruba) poems that even the poor non-yoruba indigenes were compelled to commit to memory and recite alongside the others.

It was important to Anty that we learned and mastered all of it.

Probably more important to her than our routine school activity.

If you have ever read my article 'The Race Of Work’, you’ll probably have figured that it was almost a total translation of the Yoruba poem Isé lógùn Ìsé.

Sixteen years after, the poem resonates on my within and thus constantly reminds me of the invaluable essence of Work, Toil and Industry.

Time has flown high and wide...

And Very often I reminisce with old classmates about the blissful moments.

Intermittent reflection of the ever-green memories causes me joy and laughter in the not-so-good moments.

Most of all, it points me to the tangible reason to be grateful...

Grateful for the wonderful relationships that come our way by Divine Providence.

Grateful that our paths crossed at the time in history that it did.

Thank you for every moment you ensured you always had something to press into my hand during my Early days at Uni.

Thank you for always reaching out at all times even when it didn't seem regarded.

Thank you for consistently reaching out on the 4th of January every year as though it was yours.

Thank you for all you do for David, Deborah, Dorcas, and Daniel

Most of all, Thank you for being the person that you are.

The woman with the Good Heart ❤️

Cheers to a Top-Notch Educationist!

Cheers to a Woman of Powerful Oratory and Many Words!

Cheers to CEO, Onigele-Ayo Prestige Home of Entertainment!

Cheers to the Best Teacher in the World!

I am proud to be proud of you as well as I know that you are of me

Cheers to Mrs Omolola Ikumapayi!

Cheers to the New Year, Anty!

--

--

Ayooluwa Adeleke

I write code to build logic for the apps that you love. I write blogs to inspire the change I seek.