SCA Mentorship Program: The Stretch of my Data Science Learnings.

Ayomide Ogundipe
2 min readSep 5, 2022

--

Hi there, I’m finally sharing my story from the past two months of being a mentee under the She Code Africa Mentorship Program.

Prior to this program, I had done some bootcamps physically and taken some online courses but I still struggled with actually practicing these things I had learnt due to the fear of not being perfect or would rather not share what I had done due to fear of criticism.

Fast forward to June, a coursemate (Jeremiah Lena) of mine that was monitoring my progress and knew what I was dealing with sent me a link to apply for SCA Mentorship Program as it would be very helpful for me and trust me it has been. I scaled through the interview process and was welcomed onboard.

By July 2022, I was assigned to the best mentor ever — Kosi Ashara who has been challenging me and helping me grow with practical exercises and projects. The first month was a re-introduction to Python and Object-Oriented Programming, with which I was tasked to build a guessing game and a random password generator(snippet is below):

Guessing Game
Random Password Generator

We then proceeded to the use of Numpy, Pandas & Matplotlib (Python Libraries) for data wrangling and exploratory data analysis. I and my co-mentees worked on a Netflix dataset (still too scared to share this lol).

In the month of August, I got introduced to SQL and Visualization tools (Power BI and Tableau). Took some recommended courses on Udacity and DataCamp which I’d recommend for anyone looking to learn SQL and Visualization tools. I’d be sharing my report on a dataset I explored using Tableau in my next article.

I am still in the mentorship program and I honestly cannot wait to improve in this month of September, super grateful to have gotten in for SCA Mentee Program, grateful for the gift of a mentor that wants to see me grow and grateful to SCA Founder Ada Nduka Oyom for birthing this initiative as it has stretched me greater than I expected.

Thank you for reading through my journey so far.

--

--