The Best Product Email

What makes a product email great?

Aytekin Tank
2 min readFeb 3, 2014

What do I mean by “product email”? A product email is an email sent to users of a product with the goal of engaging its users. A product email engages users by
- teaching them how to use the product
- suggesting new benefits
- connecting with them
- reminding them about the product
- making announcements

As a part of my research to understand what makes a product email great I’ve reviewed many emails. Among them I chose 22 emails and I presented them to my team today. They were inspirational. There was a lot of lively discussion. We came up with plans and ideas to move forward with our product emails.

There was one email I was especially impressed. This is an email sent to inactive dropbox users. The goal is to get them to re-activate.

Just like many great art this email is simple but powerful.

It has a story. Your computer is sad because it missed dropbox. It is also funny because we all know computers can not get sad. They cannot miss other computer software.

The email has strong Dropbox branding. It is not only the box. The illustrative style and the blue colors re-enforce the dropbox branding and personality.

The best product email

Here you go. You now know the best product email.

More Good Stuff

While we are at it let me share some more great product emails.

Apple Email about iPhoto
Disney email about a summer camp
Mint announcement email

--

--