About Myself

Ayuhnfh
3 min readFeb 7, 2024

--

Let me introduce myself, my name is Ayu Hanifah, I enrolled at Pasundan University in 2018 to pursue my undergraduate studies in the field of food technology. Two years ago, I successfully completed my undergraduate studies at Pasundan University, with Cum Laude predicate. Following the completion of my educational program, I proceeded my employment as a research assistant at the National Research and Innovation Agency, Indonesia. As a result of my participation in multiple research activities, I realized that there were still numerous chemistry or food-related topics to explore. This is what inspired me to pursue a higher level of education. I was willing to learn something new and combine it with my knowledge as food technologist. Hence, I took nanotechnology as my master degree’s program on Institut Teknologi Bandung.

I took research class or master by research program during my postgraduate school in nanotechnology. A publication in a high reputation journal is required for graduation from Institut Teknologi Bandung. Yet, based on my personal experience, journal publication is not easy. I find it most difficult to simply and clearly explain the findings of my research in written format when drafting the journal article manuscript. Furthermore, it is a challenge for me to make the reader from a different field of study, to understand the findings and novelty of my research. By taking a course in scientific journal writing, I hope to solve this challenge and difficulty. I decided to enroll this course in this semester, since I want to plan a publication strategy for my thesis. If possible, I intent to submit my draft paper by the beginning of the third or fourth semester.

I have an interest in dietary nutrition and food contaminant detection as research’s area. Developing a fortifying agent through a modification of the structure or synthesis process of the bioactive compound is interesting. Adding it to a food product is also challenging due to the fact that it may affect the food’s properties, especially its flavor, odor, and texture. On the other side, I am also have an interest in the detection of contaminants in food. It is widely recognized that the contaminant caused negative impacts on human health, or even death. This concern has inspired me to develop a food contaminant detection sensor. If possible, I would like to apply it immediately on food without the need of sample pre-treatment. As a student who also specializing in nanotechnology, I intent to combine my research interest with this field. Whether my objective is to produce nutrition on a nanoscale or implement nanomaterials as sensor.

I am very grateful that my research interest is match with my thesis. During my thesis, I want to detect pathogen bacteria on milk using Surface Enhance Raman Spectroscopy (SERS) method. In this research, AgNPs in copper tape (Cu-tape) will act as the substrate for detect the bacteria (Eschericia coli and Staphylococcus aureus) in milk as the matrix. AgNPs synthesis will use deionized water to reduce noice in Raman Spectroscopy result. Then, AgNPs were deposited onto the Cu-tape surface in the present study via an easy method, such as dipping. The research was carried out through a comparison of the Raman spectrum characteristics of Staphylococcus aureus; Eschericia coli; Staphylococcus aureus and Eschericia coli in milk medium; milk spike solution; and raw milk, in order to obtain a spectrum that is distinctive of these two pathogenic bacteria. A comparison will be also made between the Raman results and the conventional TPC method in order to determine the method’s validity and accuracy. I requires education on how to formulate a written explanation of my research and make a strategy for it. I am also interested in the method to find a suitable publisher for my paper in the future.

I wish to submit my draft paper of my thesis in Foods (MDPI). This journal and publisher were picked because of the fact that not many food technologists are familiar with Raman Spectroscopy or SERS. Both conventional and modern methods for detecting bacteria on food require long sample pre-treatment and experiments. I considered it as an opportunity when I am able to offer the reviewers and editors with an ‘unique’ method for detecting bacteria on food without requiring any sample pre-treatment on the targeted food. When finding that food contamination and monitoring has become a special issue in this journal, my confidence increases. Despite the fact that I may not be able to submit my draft paper by the actual deadline (June 24th, 2024), I am reassured that contamination monitoring is still an important concern this year. My wish to submit my draft paper on high reputation publish, reassured me to continue this course.

Unlisted

--

--