GSOC’23: Community Bonding Recap

Ayushmishra
3 min readMay 31, 2023

--

Greetings, everyone!

I am delighted to provide an update on my journey as a participant in the Google Summer of Code (GSoC) 2023. I am working on the project “Enhancing Component Test Coverage and Quality for OpenMRS3,” and in this blog post, I will share my experiences during the community bonding period, along with the progress made and the roadmap for the upcoming coding phase.

The primary objective of this project is to achieve a high level of test coverage for the OpenMRS3 repositories, with a special focus on the patient-chart and patient-management repositories. By implementing consistent and comprehensive unit and integration testing strategies, we aim to enhance the reliability and stability of these vital components.

During the community bonding period, I had the opportunity to connect with the incredible OpenMRS community and my mentors, which provided me with invaluable insights into the project. Engaging in onboarding calls and having productive meetings with my mentors, Piumal Rathnayake and Anjula Shanaka, allowed me to gain a deeper understanding of the project’s scope, timeline, and efficient working strategies. Their guidance and support have been instrumental in preparing me for the coding phase.

One of the major tasks accomplished during the bonding period was the improvement of existing tests. I created an epic to track this effort. You can find the epic at this link: O3–2063. I successfully completed most of the assigned issues and have created pull requests (PRs) for them. Currently, three of these PRs are under review.

Here are the links to the PRs I created during the community bonding period:

In addition to these technical tasks, I also took the initiative to create a milestone document for GSoC 2023. This document serves as a roadmap for the project, outlining key milestones and deliverables. You can access the document here: GSoC 2023 Milestone Document.

To ensure a structured approach, I began my work by fixing the existing tests in the patient-management repository. This step allowed me to familiarize myself with the testing conventions, identify issues, and anticipate potential challenges. Once this phase is complete, I will proceed with setting up the mock service worker (MSW) and begin writing new tests to improve test coverage.

This approach will be followed for each repository throughout the GSoC project, with the current focus on the patient-management repository. Next, I will shift my attention to the patient-chart repository. These two repositories are of primary importance during GSoC. If you have alternative suggestions or approaches that you believe may be more effective, I am open to hearing your thoughts and suggestions.

Summary of progress during the community bonding period:

  • Fixed existing tests in the patient-management repository (almost completed).
  • Compiled a list of tests to be addressed in the patient-management repository (completed).

Next steps in the project:

  • Set up MSW in the patient-management repository.
  • Enhance existing tests using the new setup.
  • Improve overall test coverage by writing new tests.

Throughout this journey, I will continue to collaborate closely with the OpenMRS community, seeking feedback and guidance to ensure the effectiveness and impact of my contributions. Together, we aim to build a more reliable and robust medical record system that benefits healthcare providers and patients worldwide.

In the next phase of GSoC 2023, I look forward to making significant progress by implementing the planned testing strategies and achieving higher test coverage for the OpenMRS3 repositories.

Stay tuned for more updates on my progress, challenges faced, and lessons learned. Your support and feedback are greatly appreciated as we embark on this exciting endeavour!

Happy Coding!!

--

--