Week 01: Coding Period GSoC’23 with OpenMRS

Ayushmishra
1 min readJun 10, 2023

--

Greetings Everyone,

The first week of coding period was fun and busy as I have my exams going on during this week. I am working on improving the existing test for patient-management-repo. In this repo multiple tests were getting skipped because they were failing due to one or another reason. I am working on fixing all those test and make them pass. Doing this will give me the idea about the flow of the test and how they are previously done.

During this week I particularly worked on the test for patient-registration-validation component. Multiple tests were getting skipped and they were failing because some of the mocks were missing in the test. I added those tests missing mocks and then the tests started passing then I created the PR. But the tests previously written for this component was not unit tests. It was integration tests. During the PR review my mentor pointed out that this is not a best practice and we should write our integration tests in a separate folder and we should have unit tests written for this file also. So, I started working on writing the unit tests and completed writing all the unit tests. I created the PR for this here is the link:- https://github.com/openmrs/openmrs-esm-patient-management/pull/707

This PR is still under review and will be merged after completion.

Stay tuned for more updates on my progress, challenges faced, and lessons learned. Your support and feedback are greatly appreciated as we embark on this exciting endeavour!

Happy Coding!!

--

--