Week 02: GSoC’23 with OpenMRS

Ayushmishra
2 min readJun 12, 2023

--

Hello everyone,

Welcome to my second week of Google Summer of Code (GSoC) journey! I hope you all had a great week. In this blog post, I will be sharing my progress, challenges, and lessons learned during this week.

Before diving into the details, I want to mention that this week was quite hectic for me as I had my exams going on simultaneously.

During this week also, my main focus was on improving the existing tests for the patient-management-repo. In this week I was focusing on the patient-registration component of the patient-management repo. Tests for this component was also failing due to multiple reasons and I was able to fix almost all the test but one test is still failing because the mockedSavePatient function is not being called due to some reasons. I am looking into this and created the PR for this. Here is the link for the PR:- https://github.com/openmrs/openmrs-esm-patient-management/pull/709

This PR is still in draft because of the failing test and I am looking into it and hopefully will be able to fix. If you have any advice for fixing the failing test, please feel free to suggest. I look forward to addressing any feedback and making the necessary adjustments before it can be merged.

Overall, this week has been enlightening and has reinforced the significance of writing proper tests and adhering to best practices. It has also provided me with a deeper understanding of the patient-management-repo and the importance of maintaining a robust testing suite.

As I move forward, I will continue to work diligently on improving and expanding the test coverage while also incorporating any additional suggestions from the review process.

Thank you all for your support and feedback thus far. Your encouragement keeps me motivated as I embark on this exciting journey. Stay tuned for more updates on my progress, challenges, and lessons learned!

Happy coding to everyone, and have a fantastic week ahead!

--

--