UX & Redesigning LIC OF INDIA’S app

ayyaj aatar
5 min readMay 15, 2019

--

Hi all, hope you are well & trying to make others life easy & beautiful.

A while ago I decided to take LIC policy. I researched my self and took 21 years jeevan labh policy with the help of agent.

1st premium I paid by cheque. and 2nd time the agent told me to pay with LIC’s app. He shared me a link & I downloaded the app.

I am an UX designer so I got attention on app immediately. I was just trying to get app’s experience. And I realized this app really really need UX design process.

There are so many things which got my attention for Redesigning. So I started.

For this project I used Design Council’s Double Diamond process

There are so many process. Like 6D process, 4D/Double Diamond Process, Classic UX Design Process, Lean UX Design Process & Design sprint UX Process.

Process depends on project to project. Take whichever fulfill your requirements.

…………………………………………………………………………………….

1. DISCOVER

We should invest time in discovery. Generally, the more time we spend on a discovery, the more details we’ll find about a problem, the better solution we will find.

I did Competitive Analysis. I Downloaded Max Life, HDFC Life, Kotak General Insurance, Religare Health & Max Bupa Health.

I also found too many reviews on play store on LIC’s app.

Have a look…………………………………………………………………………

…………………………………………………………………………………….

These reviews inspired me more to do UX design.

Have a look at LIC’s current app…………………………………………………

2. DEFINE

From my Discovery phase I defined that Current app doesn’t have applied Heuristic Evaluation. This is in nutshell but takes huge time for finding these.

BELOW HEURISTIC EVALUATIONS SHOULD BE APPLY

1. Visibility of System Status

2. Match between system and the real world

3. User Control and Freedom

4. Consistency and Standards

5. Error Prevention

6. Recognition rather than recall

7. Flexibility and Efficiency of use

8. Aesthetic and minimalist design

9. Help users recognize, diagnose and recover from errors

10. Help and Documentation

……………………………………………………………………………………….

I took interviews also. and created personas.

3 interviews with my friends who have taken LIC’s policy

  1. MAHESH MANKAR

Age: 30 years old

Occupation: Marketing person

Status: Single

Mahesh is family person & very conscious about his and his family’s health

He has taken LIC jeevan anand 5 years ago He use app only paying premium.

PROBLEMS MAHESH IS FACING WITH THE APP

  • The app is too slow and always show amount without GST.
  • He can see total amount only after his deduction.

……………………………………………………………………………………….

2. PRIYANKA SHIMPI

Age: 26 years old

Occupation: Web Developer

Status: Married

Priyanka Loves traveling & spending quality time with her family.

She has taken LIC policy 2 years ago on her brother’s advice.

She used to pay premium by cheque. Then her LIC agent told her you can pay premium by app also.

PROBLEMS PRIYANKA WAS FACING WITH THE APP

  • Log in process is too confusing.
  • Too many unnecessary thing which have given important than paying premium. (like all polices, Basic services)
  • Used technical words which she didn’t understand after 3–4 times of use.

……………………………………………………………………………………….

3. PRATIKSHA HINGANE

Age: 22 years old

Occupation: Illustrator

Status: Single

Pratiksha Loves watching Hollywood movies & doing shopping.

1 year ago, a senior person in her family advised her for LIC.

From then she is using LIC app.

PROBLEMS PRATIKSHA WAS FACING WITH THE APP

  • Sign up process was too confusing
  • Tried many times for log in but always get error
  • No option for Download receipt

Whenever she need information about other policies she need to give all details again which she has already given at the time of sign up. So she use other resources for details.

……………………………………………………………………………………….

USER SCENARIOS OF OLD APP

FLOW CHART OF NEW APP

3. DEVELOP

Here is the wireframe from the above Discovery & Define.

DIGITAL WIREFRAME

This work is in progress..

--

--