How I build my first SaaS: From idea to the initial launch

Azharie Muhammad
2 min readOct 30, 2022

--

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

I want to share my personal story about creating a SaaS project. I have been developing Duitify for the past three weeks. This is a simple tool to track my credit card expenses. I find it easier to get on a budget by tracking my CC expenses. This will be a good way to develop a good money habit.

After picking this idea I wanted to see if there were any existing solutions.
In fact, I found an app to track credit card expenses from BNI but the app itself is outdated. The last change they made was a year ago. So I created my own solutions.

BNI Credit card expenses tracker

MVP

The idea is to build a simple CRUD web app. A page to log a new transaction and show the latest transactions. It will show the current balance of my CC.

I integrate Duitify with Airtable. So every user has a unique Airtable base. It won’t save your credit card expenses on a centralized database.

I create a simple formula to calculate the total expense and the current balance.

The Initial Launch

Actually, I had no idea how to launch a SaaS product. I have a quite big Twitter audience but I’m not doing much more marketing to distribute Duitify. I should do some more content marketing and keep building in public.

Lessons I’ve learned

  1. Start with my own problem. I’d say your first project can be your everyday struggles.
  2. Start with zero dollars. I don’t buy a domain. I’m using the free one and deploying the app on Netlify for free.
  3. Keep my task small. I choose to build a very simple feature not a fancy one and I always ask before I develop a new feature or fix a bug “Can I finish this task in two hours?”. If it takes longer then I should break it down further.

What to do next?

Marketing the product. I know this is the hardest part of building a SaaS business but I need to let others experience what I made. I should find early adopters of my product.

Finally, let’s get back to work!

Follow me on Twitter @azharieazharou where I share my progress.

--

--