The Rapture of Canaan by Sheri Reynolds: Book 2 of 2024

Azia Archer
2 min readJan 18, 2024

--

I feel nearly stunned to silence by this book. I don’t even know where to begin. It was just that good. I finished it in just two nighttime reading sessions. Everything that Sheri Reynolds did in The Rapture of Canaan is genius. This book is a masterpiece. When I saw it was published in 1995, I was shocked. How have I gone nearly 20 years without hearing a single peep about this novel? Have I been living under a rock? Did it get a bunch of attention in ’95 and then trickle off into obscurity? This book deserves all the accolades and revival. If you haven’t read it, read it now. I’m so glad I picked up a copy on a whim during a thrifting adventure. I found gold and I intend to treasure it for the rest of my life.

We are quickly introduced to Ninah, a young girl who lives on a religious compound, The Church of Fire and Brimstone and God’s Almighty Baptizing Wind, where her grandfather, Grandpa Herman, leads the community as head elder and Pastor. Ninah has a strong tie with her Nanna, Leilah, and it is quickly revealed Nanna is a liar and sinner who was luckily saved. Nanna’s sin as a young girl is often brought to attention during Grandpa Herman’s sermons but Ninah doesn’t agree that what her Nanna did was wrong. She see’s most things much differently than the people of the community that surrounds her.

Ninah falls for a young man, who is also part of The Church of Fire and Brimstone and God’s Almighty Baptizing Wind, and they become prayer partners. They’re so filled with the spirit of God that they experience Jesus in the flesh through one another and it’s these experiences that begin the long path to revelation for Ninah, and the community at large.

I will not give much more of the plot away but I will say, this is not Christian fiction. There is an underlying focus on God, but it’s critical, delicate and not at all what you would expect. This book is written with such a poetic and meticulous hand, it paints pictures in your mind and weaves feelings throughout your spirit. You root for Ninah and you find yourself eager to devour page after page to discover what happens next.

This book is an absolute must-read. It is one I know I will return to again and again over the years. Truly, Sheri Reynolds, wherever you are: thank you.

--

--

Azia Archer

Azia Archer is a writer living in Minnesota. She is the author of the "Atoms and Evers" (dancinggirlpress, 2017) and is currently working on her first novel.