Azim Mamanov
2 min readMay 24, 2018

In a couple of my previous posts I went through all Greek uncial manuscripts and church fathers citations related to Luke 22:43–44 I was able to get. Here is the summary of all my findings on authenticity of the passage:

I tried to cover all applicable uncial manuscripts, but I still need to find these ones: Uncial 0211 (7th century), Uncial 0307 (7th century), and Uncial 047 (8th century). Nevertheless, even in the worst case scenario, if these uncials omit the passage, it won’t really change the balance. In addition, The Majority Text and Jerome’s Latina Vulgata are in favor of the passage. So my conclusion is: Luke 22:43–44 is original, and I don’t see strong basis for making those footnotes which raise doubts in authenticity of the passage.

It’s quite remarkable that Luke, being a physician, noticed this phenomenon of blood sweating when carefully researching and gathering information from eyewitnesses. This phenomenon is an indication of enormous stress. When I read Jesus struggling so much I realize He was a real human, as we say in Russian, кость от кости и плоть от плоти. It was a pinnacle of manifestation of His human nature. While His disciples were asleep and unaware of their (as well as ours) fate being determined, Jesus was in agony making His choice. I don’t think I will ever be able to comprehend the level and intensity of the struggle Jesus had during this period of time. I pray that I will never experience anything like that. I am proud of being a disciple of such a Person, the Son of Man and the Son of God, our Lord Jesus Christ, and worship Him forever!