Digital art by NY12art.com

Headmaster’s Wardrobe

B. C. Decker

--

It’s time to prepare!
Class is about to begin!
So I’ll slide open the white door
of a possibilities-brimming,
enchanted little space
where my attire is stored
and peruse a section of a collection
fashioned from a dream;
I won’t forget what I started this for.
I’ll wear my most professional,
my library chic,
a dress pulled from a storybook,
designer for cheap,
style me tailored
or fit for a fairy —
I’ll need Peter Pan collars,
antique buttons,
patches and brooches,
mermaid-esque fabrics,
a top like Cinderella’s brown housemaid outfit,
empty the old me off hangers,
take me down to the consignment shop in town,
ask the kind owner to recycle me,
ship me off to thrifters,
gift me to my nieces,
box me away;
the new me needs
puffed silhouettes,
fringed peacoat,
lots of navy,
military-themed,
frilly,
many hues of blue,
something out of Miss Havisham’s closet,
Alice’s ankle-strapped shoes,
satin black ribbons,
polka dots,
checkered,
oh my, then suddenly, it’s patterns galore
where there were just so many solids before;
now there’s sweaters embellished with pearls,
eclectic selection of vests,
racerback, flap pockets, grey denim,
raglan and peplum,
Hermione’s blazer
(and most of it second-hand),
though my mind can’t help but wander
as I flip through and ponder,
are any characters trapped in the fibers;
what scenes transpired;
in the right clothes
can I really reinvent myself;
put my past chapter on a shelf;
but oh, what I had to let go…
if these garments could talk
what would they confide;
why’d they part with their owner;
what home did they leave behind;
how many stories…
How many histories?
My gosh, I love vintage.

A class awaits.
Can’t forget my red glasses!

~Miss Brittney

--

--