More poor people need to own bread machines

Brianne Peters
3 min readMar 13, 2018

--

Being poor sucks. It really does. There’s no way around the fact that it sucks to not have enough wealth to live the life you want to, or even afford basic amenities. But here’s my advice from when I was too poor to afford almost anything: Buy a bread machine.

The control panel for my bread machine.

Bread machines line the shelves of thrift stores everywhere holding more value than almost any food processor or blender. In essence a bread machine is a magical robot where you put in the ingredients for bread and leave it alone for a few hours or so and it makes you a loaf of bread. Sound magical? You have no idea.

It’s been proven over and over again that purchasing ingredients is so much cheaper than purchasing ready made food items. The only cost differential is in your time (which is a great thing to spend when you’re poor. When you don’t have money).

When I moved out of my parent’s house, a lot of savings dried up very quickly but what saved my butt was having loaves of bread that cost 50 cents for ingredients and fresh and warm goodness after binging the office or finishing some programming exercises. (It also makes your house smell great)

Let’s do a cost comparison. A loaf of bread (factory made, it’s the cheapest) costs about two dollars at my local grocery stores. A bread machine at my local thrift stores costs about five or ten dollars. About the same as 5 loaves of bread. It costs about 50 cents in ingredients for a loaf of bread (although it’s difficult to spend 50 cents per batch, you buy in small bulk). For two dollars you can get eight loaves of bread (50 cents in a dollar, two dollars). So you make back your money very quickly, and bread machines tend to last a very long time (I’ve had mine for about two years, and it had some family usage before then). It’s lasted me longer without repairs than most cars.

Let’s calculate the saving of owning a bread machine for the past two years assuming a few things:

-I eat about two loaves worth of bread a week.

-There are fifty two weeks in a year.

If I was buying my bread in a store, that’s about 208 bucks a year. That’s for the world’s cheapest factory bread (which isn’t really good for you).

If I make it myself, I only spend about 52 dollars per year on bread. Those are insane savings. And your bread machine can make way better stuff than just factory white bread. You can make your own wheat bread, and the real value comes in the fact that you can also have it just make you dough for pizza, bagels, cinnamon rolls, dinner rolls (you get the idea). So that means better cheaper pizza, cinnamon rolls, bagels, dinner rolls (I hope you’re catching onto my idea here).

So let me reiterate, if you’re stuck in poverty, limited on time, or want something better than what you can get in a store: buy a friggin’ bread machine. It’s worth all five hundred pennies.

--

--