A Thousand Love Letters

Dewi
P.S. I Love You
Published in
4 min readMay 16, 2019

--

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

I opened the door and took off my shoes, not turning them around.

“Sorry, just doing some major clean up. This will take awhile.”

I tiptoed across the room and sat on the bed, looking around the boxes and piled papers. I tucked my feet under his blanket where it’s still warm.

A large stack was of torn envelopes and another of place-card sized cards. They were handwritten.

“You have a lot of letters. Who sends letters, these days?”

“My ex-wife.”

I craned my neck and read the top card. The handwriting was in a neat and deliberate script.

The sweetest lips hold poison.

“Sorry couldn’t help but read it. That’s a strange line to write to your lover, was that all there is?”

He didn’t turn.

“Yes, a line or few each time. Not exactly lovers now, huh.”

“Wow, there must be a lot here. Was this when you were dating?”

“That one’s sent probably a month ago or so.”

“Your ex sent you a card a month ago? You’ve been divorced for years, why is she sending you these?”

He stopped stacking boxes. His back stretched forever.

--

--