Schrödinger Mom

a flash thought fiction

Dewi
2 min readApr 17, 2018
Photo by Marko Blažević

“I will never find my mother.”

“Can’t? Or won’t?”

“Somewhere in between. You know, if I don’t find her, she could be anyone, and yet no one. Like the cat?”

“What cat?”

“That cat that could be both alive and dead.”

“Ahh.. Schrödinger’s?”

“Yes, yes, that one.”

“I’m not sure if that’s the right analogy…”

“Hmm.. so anyway, why would you want every lady out there to be your mother? That’s mental. I have one and that’s so enough.”

“See, that’s where you’re trapped. You’re stuck with the one. I can choose to have none, or as many as I want. Like that woman over there, she could be my mother. But not the one next to her.

“Why not?”

“D’oh, she’s white. Anyway, that other one... She’s here to forget her past, and her past could be giving me up, you know. She was young, stressed out, social and family pressure. But she never forgets, nope. Always wondering.”

“She does look depressed, but this is starting to sound like a C-movie script.”

“I’m just telling you, as an example. There was one rich woman that I saw the other day, getting on a 2 million bucks car. Pretty as hell. If it was her, well, she gave me up because she got me from an affair with her chauffeur. I was born secretly and she told everyone the baby died. Hollywood style. Not a single regret, good on her. ”

“You have some drama queen thing going on in that head. I’ll let it pass tonight because it’s your birthday. Now before you go to that lady bawling your eyes out calling her Momma, let’s leave this sad morbid dump. You go get the car, I’ll get the bill.”

“Where next?”

“How about the rooftop?”

“Sure. You know, when I was paying. I heard that lady, the your-mother-not-your-mother, said something that sounds a lot like it’s her son’s birthday today to the bartender. Couldn’t catch anything else, though. What do you know, you might be right after all.”

“Ha ha! See! Now you’re seeing my point. She did, did she? Well, she could be...”

--

--