Pixabay.com

Two monks and the pond

Dewi
2 min readDec 29, 2016

One day a Teacher asked two disciple monks to go to a pond over the hill, and report back what they saw in the pond.

The monks went and did what they were told and returned. The first monk said, “I saw my self there, my fears, my insecurities, and my weaknesses. I saw that the world is an illusion, for I am constantly living looking at reflections and not the truth.”

The Teacher nodded and motioned the second monk to report.

“Teacher, I saw some fish for dinner.”

The Teacher pondered and nodded once again. “Tomorrow, you both shall go to the pond again and put yourselves in each other’s minds and point of view. See what one another sees and report back to me.”

The next day the two monks did as told. The first monk brought back a fish and the second monk followed behind closely.

“Very good. If you both have a good enough answer, I will let you share the fish tonight. Proceed.”

“Today I saw the fishes my brother mentioned and even fished one of them,” said the first monk.

The Teacher waited for the second monk to continue.

“Teacher, today I saw some fishes for dinner in the pond. I’m proud of catching one of them.”

The Teacher said, “Very well, let’s share the fish tonight at dinner.”

The first monk raised his eyebrows and asked, “Teacher, have you forgotten? You asked us to put ourselves in each other’s mind shoes. But my brother here is still saying the same thing. Furthermore, I was the one who caught the fish.”

The Teacher motioned the second monk to explain himself.

“Brother, yesterday you saw yourself and the illusions of the world. But today you were seeing, thinking of the fishes. I put myself in your mind and saw them there. I also saw your pride in catching it. I must add that I also agree that they would be more delicious grilled than boiled.”

Thank you for reading. If the above story is your cup of tea, check out my previous monk snippet below:

--

--