Create a Fullstack app with Django, GraphQL and VueJS

Babajide Ogunjobi
Analytics Vidhya
Published in
14 min readMay 10, 2019

--

As a data engineer, most of my experience and knowledge mainly centers around building databases, architecting data platforms and most importantly building fault tolerant data pipelines (either within Hadoop clusters or on single Linux instances). I originally started learning Django about 4 years ago because of my need to visualize a lot of the data that I was working with within web pages (especially tables and charts).

Example Workflow (Pre VueJS)

As time went on, I began to see the importance of being able to control the flow of data from acquisition all the way to visualization and that propelled me to get some more experience in working with javascript and frontend frameworks.

Example Workflow (with GraphQL and VueJS)

This tutorial introduces the concept of building and using a django backend to serve your VueJS application using GraphQl (Graphene) as your API framework where we’ll be creating an employee management system for a fictional startup.

For this part 1, we’ll create the backend for the management system using Django and…

--

--