Folashade Babalola
5 min readJan 13, 2021

A Modest Proposal”- Morakinyo ❤️ Folashade

Yes, forever does exist, but only when you find someone special who can make you see it.

It was a sunny afternoon, my Ex-school mate — ‘Kelvin’ reached out to me on proposal ideas intended for his best friend. The usual ‘me’ poured out every proposal idea I had stored up in my little head😊…I went as far as sending voice notes, screenshots, Instagram links (if only I knew I was been monitored☹️). From that moment onward, I had a proposal to plan…..he was going to invite me to witness the proposal too…I was super excited💃 (It was going to be my first time of witnessing a Live Marriage Proposal).

Let me introduce you to the love of my life — Morakinyo❤️….. We often have conversations of how bad he is with suprises (I know him too well to find out every plan even before it’s unleashed🤪) but this I MUST say is an EXCEPTION…he planned a proposal right under my nose (I have just been beaten hands down 🙄)

Here is the real gist……he had my elder sis talk to me about a job involving product photography, the supposed job would require I fix my nails and get them painted in bright colors. She stylishly got my ring size claiming it was details of the supposed product to be shot. I looked forward with all eagerness to the job as the pay was promising ( I like money 😎).

Then came the D-day for the job, she called to cancel with a flimsy excuse that one of the instruments to be used for the shot is yet to arrive and as such the job has been postponed to the following day (Ooops….Kelvin had invited me to witness his friend’s proposal that same day….how do I handle a proposal and a Job simultaneously??)

I was so discouraged, immediately I called ‘Akin’ to inform him of how pissed I was🤦‍♀️…..all he did was respond casually to my complaints of how bad I felt about how she canceled…having to fix nails that’s totally out of my style (Yeah, I like it simple and natural👌)..….what a gloomy way to start my day 😔!

I reached out to my elder sis to inform her of the important event I was to attend that same day, she agreed to have the shot done 4pm…..so I could handle both the proposal and job the same day (my joyful mood had been restored 💃)

January 9, 2021…..I informed Akin about my invitation for a friend’s proposal as well as the job I was to handle in the evening….he agreed to me going and even made plans to see me briefly later in the day.

Kelvin met up with me at the proposal venue…..it was a well constructed Meal Cafe in the Heartbeat of Lagos. The mini hall to be used was beautifully decorated with roses….and red petals littered round the hall….it was truly a sight to behold (kudos 👍 to Peachie Events), centered on the table was a colorful one-stand cake (kudos👍 to Jeniz_Cakes)…..all I could see was vendors taking pictures and videos of the decorations (I was beginning to feel left out☹️)

Kelvin reached out to me for a walk pending the arrival of his friends…..we stepped out of the hall…. I was bent on taking pictures so as to send to Akin (if only I knew he was at the venue to😉) ******* He placed a call and said it was time to go back to the venue as the couple would soon arrive and we all had to be set.

I stepped into the hall and WOW about 2x the people I left was now there, just before I could look into their faces….right in the middle was the love of my life on his knees begging me to marry him🥰……I am still yet to get over the Suprise😍😍*******

I said YES to forever….. I said YES to marry my BEST FRIEND❤️❤️❤️❤️ and YES we are excited about starting life’s journey together💞💞

#TheCFlovestory…..watch out

CREDIT

•Photography- Sunreal Photography

•Events/Decorations- Peachie Events

•Ring- Jeniz_Jewels

•Cakes/Refreshments- Jeniz

•My loving Elder Sister and Amazing Friends💞

Told by — Folashade —

Folashade Babalola

I am Folashade Babs and I’m from Earth. I hail from somewhere in Osun State, raised in Lagos...based in Lagos - Nigeria🇳🇬 I love making friends and blogging😊