REVIEW: The VivoBarefoot Primus Lite is the Next Best Thing to Being Barefoot

Back to Bare
3 min readJun 27, 2018

--

Light, responsive, and ultra-flexible, the Primus Lite is a shoe that you can almost trick you into feeling like you’re wearing nothing at all. (87/100)

VivoBarefoot Primus Lite in Chili Pepper Red

The Primus Lite is the latest stop on my expedition to find a shoe that truly feels like running barefoot. It might also be my last stop, because I’ve quite literally run out of room. At 3mm, there’s simply no more material to strip away from a shoe without severely reducing durability.

So here we go!

Comfort

My Primus Trail SG’s gave me some nasty raw spots within 5 minutes, and although I later solved that problem, I was hoping for something a little cozier and less stiff from VivoBarefoot this time around.

The Primus Lite is completely seamless.

The Primus Lite definitely delivers on both of those qualities—my first run (about 4 miles) was rub-free and at times I almost forgot I was wearing shoes.

Like the Trail SG, there are no seams on these shoes, which allows them to feel smooth without adding an unnecessary amount of cushion to the upper.

Fit

I’m batting two for two with VivoBarefoot so far, because the Primus Lite fits true to size.

Although my feet are on the narrow side overall, they’re abnormally wide in the mid-foot—I was initially concerned by some tightness. However, that never bothered my while running (I think, in part, because the shoes are so flexible and non-constrictive).

Performance

These are road shoes, through and through. They offer next to no grip, and I would actually be wary of taking them out when it’s wet. I slipped several times running up a paved hill, and that’s only going to worsen over time as the minimal tread wears away.

With no cushion to speak of, I was expecting the balls of my feet to get sore after a few miles. That didn’t happen.

These shoes are ULTRA-flexible. 💪

Still, you have to be mindful of your form in the Primus Lite. And while I wouldn’t recommend using them for speed work, I think they’re a great option for slower jogs where the focus is quality rather than speed or milage.

Durability

3mm is not a number that inspires confidence. However, it’s been my experience that running with good form in lighter shoes will get you more milage than running with mediocre or poor form in heavier shoes.

After four miles, my Primus Lites show no wear—which is, at the very least, a promising sign of things to come. I’ll update this review in a few weeks!

Chili Pepper Red! 🌶

Style

I bought the Primus Lite in Chili Pepper Red. It’s bright enough to catch your attention, but not in a garish way.

The design good enough and simple enough that you could wear this shoes out and about after a run.

The Bottom Line

The Primus Lite is a shoe you need to be “prepared” for. It is as minimal as minimal can get, and if you aren’t used to barefoot running shoes or run on your heels you will almost certainly get injured.

After running in the Lites, I’m convinced that it simply is not possible to create a shoe that completely mimics running barefoot, but they sure do come close!

Still not sure? Check out the Primus Trail SG on RunRepeat for in-depth specs, expert reviews, comparisons, and more.

Score: 87/100

*I’ll be updating this review as I get more miles in, so check back for more info on long-term durability.

--

--

Back to Bare

Andrew Folts is a mid-distance road and trail runner with a penchant for barefoot shoes.