The Start of My Yoga Teaching Journey and Commitment to Happiness

Bailey Noble
3 min readApr 27, 2018

--

Yoga came into my life 6 years ago. I awakened one morning with the word yoga so clearly in the forefront of my mind. It was almost as if someone whispered “yoga” in my ear while I slept. I didn’t know the first thing about yoga, but that message was so loud and clear I couldn’t ignore it. I google searched ‘yoga near me’ and immediately found a free, donation based yoga class at Runyon Canyon Park. The class was starting in 30 minutes, giving me just enough time to get there. Free outdoor yoga, how could I resist. It was a recipe for love at first pose.

I fell in love with the stability and grounding that came with every pose. I wasn’t good or even graceful as I tried to put my body into the shapes the teacher was explaining, but I loved it. And as I sat in meditation with the sun on my face after that class I knew, listening to that voice inside my head was the best thing I ever did. I became addicted to the balance that began fluttering into my life.

On January 20th, 2018 I began my Yoga Teacher Training (YTT) at Yoga Blend in Burbank, CA and am LOVING every minute of it. It was the very first studio I went to outside of my grassy Runyon Park. The studio emanates openness, connection, acceptance and a down to Earth vibe. The Blend part of Yoga Blend is a hint to the culmination of different styles and beliefs you’ll find there. They believe yoga is your own personal blend. Take what resonates and leave the rest. I’m jazzed by this idea because I have always believed religion or spirituality is a person to person thing and as long as it makes you happy and you aren’t harming anyone, believe away!

This YTT is the way I’ve committed to my own happiness. Sometimes we think of happiness as fleeting moments that come and go as they please throughout life. But what happens when we take our happiness into our own hands? What happens when we commit, like a relationship, to happiness? I love the word Prana in Sanskrit. It means breath, life force. When we give time to a yoga practice, meditation, nature, community, art or whatever brings us joy, we are creating a direct link to Prana, our life force. And when we nourish those things we are committing to bringing more happiness into our lives.

Now I know that sounds easier said than done considering life can get pretty crazy. But if we fill ourselves up with as much Prana as we can we will be able to more easily adapt to whatever curveball life might throw us. And here’s the good news, it doesn’t have to be an hour long yoga class or some spiritual retreat. It can be taking 5 minutes to breathe, or move, or get out in nature. It can be taking conscious time in the morning to enjoy your coffee. You can give that to yourself, I know you can. Fill yourself with Prana so you can take it with you into all your interactions!

XO, B

--

--